Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Commerce

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Downtown Commerce OKPhoto: TheWhitePelican · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Commerce · Not graded

Crime reported in Commerce, OK

Commerce’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
31
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
3 mi
Miami (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 14 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (13.6)Violent crime (1.8)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Commerce1.8
Rest of OK4.7
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Commerce13.6
Rest of OK24.4
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Commerce’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Oklahoma. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearCommerceRest of OklahomaCommerceRest of Oklahoma
202218.426.23.94.7
202313.624.41.84.7
2024not reported22.7not reported4.9
2025not reported20.7not reported4.6

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

35 crimes reported in 2023

4 violent and 31 property, as reported to the FBI by Commerce’s police.

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft18
Burglary8
Vehicle theft5
Aggravated assault4
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson1
4
violent crimes
31
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Oklahoma towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
MiamiD3 mi5.030.8
FairlandB13 mi1.88.1
VinitaC−23 mi3.319.1
GroveC−25 mi2.329.3
JayD35 mi6.635.7
ChelseaB42 mi1.77.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Commerce. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Commerce.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Commerce’s roads in 2019–2023

Commerce had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Oklahoma towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Commerce’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Commerce’s own rate (9.0) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
9.0
per 100,000 a year · Oklahoma towns of 2,500–5,000: 6.1

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Commerce and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Commerce
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Commerce. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Commerce’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,276 in 2023); our figure for Commerce is 2,260 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Commerce

Is Commerce, OK safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Commerce. Commerce’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Oklahoma towns with a grade are Miami (D, 3 mi), Fairland (B, 13 mi), Vinita (C−, 23 mi).

Who polices Commerce?

Commerce’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Commerce”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Commerce.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Commerce feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.