Photo: Nyttend · Public domainCrime reported in Sheffield, OH
Sheffield’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, about 3 property crimes reported
And about 1 violent crime, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023
Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
The years Sheffield’s police reported
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Ohio. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
Show as a table
| Year | Sheffield | Rest of Ohio | Sheffield | Rest of Ohio |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 5.2 | 22.6 | 0.5 | 4.0 |
| 2023 | 3.2 | 21.1 | 0.5 | 3.7 |
| 2024 | not reported | 19.8 | not reported | 3.9 |
| 2025 | not reported | 17.8 | not reported | 3.5 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
16 crimes reported in 2023
2 violent and 14 property, as reported to the FBI by Sheffield’s police.
2023 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
The nearest Ohio towns with a Safety Grade
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sheffield Lake | B+ | 2 mi | 1.7 | 5.8 |
| Lorain | C− | 5 mi | 5.4 | 15.6 |
| Avon | B+ | 5 mi | 0.6 | 9.1 |
| Avon Lake | A | 5 mi | 0.2 | 3.2 |
| Elyria | C+ | 5 mi | 2.3 | 14.1 |
| North Ridgeville | A | 6 mi | 0.4 | 2.6 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Sheffield. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Sheffield.
Six people died in crashes on Sheffield’s roads in 2019–2023
Sheffield had 6 fatal crashes in five years, in which six people died. 2 died in crashes on an Interstate.
That is more than is typical for Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Sheffield’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Sheffield’s own rate (27.4) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Sheffield and its neighbors
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lorain | C− | 5.4 | 15.6 |
| Sheffield Township | — | — | — |
| Sheffield Lake | B+ | 1.7 | 5.8 |
| Avon | B+ | 0.6 | 9.1 |
| Elyria | C+ | 2.3 | 14.1 |
| Avon Lake | A | 0.2 | 3.2 |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Sheffield Township has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Sheffield. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Sheffield’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (4,421 in 2023); our figure for Sheffield is 4,757 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Sheffield
Is Sheffield, OH safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Sheffield. Sheffield’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Ohio towns with a grade are Sheffield Lake (B+, 2 mi), Lorain (C−, 5 mi), Avon (B+, 5 mi).
Who polices Sheffield?
Sheffield’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Sheffield Village”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Neighbors looking out for each other in Sheffield.
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.