Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Sabina

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Sabina OH from airplanePhoto: Dough4872 · Public domain
Safety in Sabina · Not graded

Crime reported in Sabina, OH

Sabina’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
26
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
12 mi
Washington Court House (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 11 property crimes reported

And fewer than 1 violent crime, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (10.5)Violent crime (0.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Sabina0.4
Rest of OH3.7
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Sabina10.5
Rest of OH21.1
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Sabina’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Ohio. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearSabinaRest of OhioSabinaRest of Ohio
202217.222.63.24.0
202310.521.10.43.7
2024not reported19.8not reported3.9
2025not reported17.8not reported3.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

27 crimes reported in 2023

1 violent and 26 property, as reported to the FBI by Sabina’s police.

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft23
Burglary1
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
26
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Ohio towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Washington Court HouseB−12 mi1.511.4
GreenfieldA−16 mi1.15.2
HillsboroB−19 mi1.213.2
XeniaC+21 mi2.315.4
BlanchesterB23 mi1.59.4
Yellow SpringsB−25 mi1.312.4

Straight-line distance from the center of Sabina. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Sabina.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Sabina’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Sabina’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Sabina’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000: 9.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Sabina and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Sabina
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Sabina. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Sabina’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,470 in 2023); our figure for Sabina is 2,437 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Sabina

Is Sabina, OH safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Sabina. Sabina’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Ohio towns with a grade are Washington Court House (B−, 12 mi), Greenfield (A−, 16 mi), Hillsboro (B−, 19 mi).

Who polices Sabina?

Sabina’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Sabina”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Sabina.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Sabina feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.