Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Fredericktown

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Downtown Fredericktown, OhioPhoto: Nyttend · Public domain
Safety in Fredericktown · Not graded

Crime reported in Fredericktown, OH

Fredericktown’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
11
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
7 mi
Mount Vernon (A−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 4 property crimes reported

And no violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (4.2)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Fredericktown0.0
Rest of OH3.9
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Fredericktown4.2
Rest of OH19.8
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Fredericktown’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Ohio. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearFredericktownRest of OhioFredericktownRest of Ohio
20229.122.60.04.0
2023not reported21.0not reported3.7
20244.219.80.03.9
2025not reported17.8not reported3.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

11 crimes reported in 2024

0 violent and 11 property, as reported to the FBI by Fredericktown’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft11
Burglary0
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson2
0
violent crimes
11
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Ohio towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Mount VernonA−7 mi0.95.0
BellvilleB+10 mi1.26.2
LoudonvilleA−20 mi1.33.6
MansfieldC−20 mi3.925.9
OntarioC−20 mi1.229.3
GalionB22 mi2.05.9

Straight-line distance from the center of Fredericktown. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Fredericktown.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Fredericktown’s roads in 2019–2023

Fredericktown had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Fredericktown’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Fredericktown’s own rate (7.5) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
7.5
per 100,000 a year · Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000: 9.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Fredericktown and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Morris Township: not gradedWayne Township: not gradedMiddlebury Township: not gradedMorris TownshipWayne TownshipMiddlebury TownshipFredericktown
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Morris Township———
Middlebury Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Morris Township and Middlebury Township have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Fredericktown. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Fredericktown’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,609 in 2024); our figure for Fredericktown is 2,658 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Fredericktown

Is Fredericktown, OH safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Fredericktown. Fredericktown’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Ohio towns with a grade are Mount Vernon (A−, 7 mi), Bellville (B+, 10 mi), Loudonville (A−, 20 mi).

Who polices Fredericktown?

Fredericktown’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Fredericktown”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Fredericktown.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Fredericktown feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.