Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Canton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Pro Football Hall of Fame (23945852607)Photo: Erik Drost · CC BY 2.0
Stark County District Library

Canton’s library runs 29 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 9 for libraries its size

Stark County District Library serves 241,356 people in and around Canton from 4 locations. Last year it lent 2.4M books, movies and e-books and logged 664K visits.

715 Market Ave North, Canton 44702 · about 58 hours a week
A−Civic lifeAhead of 79% of U.S. towns · #231 of 914 in Ohio. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
2.4M
10 per resident
Visits a year
664K
2.8 per resident · Above typical (2.1)
Programs & events
6,902
about 133 a week · 111K attended
Cardholders
38%
91,279 cards
Open
58 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

The short version on Canton’s library

Three times the programs of a typical library its size

Stark County District Library ran 6,902 programs last year, about 133 a week. That’s 29 per 1,000 residents, against a typical 9. People show up: 111,000 attended. Kids & programs ↓

Ohio pays a big share

40% of the budget comes from the state, and 54% from local taxes. Nationally, most library money is local. What your card is worth ↓

Most programs are for young children

70% of the 6,902 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 51 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

Four branches in Canton

Canton has four branches of the Stark County District Library, which serves 241,356 people in and around Canton. One card works at all of them. The buildings ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Stark County District Library serves 241,356 people in and around Canton, and its numbers cover all of them.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Canton’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Canton is ahead of 79% of U.S. towns, #231 of 914 in Ohio. Canton is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; Canton’s count of community nonprofits ranks highest.

A−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Canton’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 79%
FewerMore
Ohio towns we grade (914)Ahead of 75%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $32K–$54K (2,859)Ahead of 80%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

362 community nonprofits are registered in Canton

5.2 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture290.41 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation450.65 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans731.05 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services811.16 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education470.68 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health260.37 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals100.15 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other500.72 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (104 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 7 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

8.7%

8.7% of Canton’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 8.5% in the typical Ohio town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Canton’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · Kids & programs

About 93 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Canton →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–52,631
Ages 6–112,208
Teens303
Adults1,760
All ages0
Little ones
50.6

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

681K
kids’ books & media borrowed
111K
people at programs
6,902
programs
How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 7 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 2.8 visits · typical 2.1Higher than 71%
Borrowing per resident 6.8 print items · typical 3.2Higher than 83%
Digital borrowing 3.2 e-items · typical 1.4Higher than 82%
Kids’ borrowing 2.8 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 76%
Program attendance 0.5 attendees · typical 0.2Higher than 88%
Programs offered 28.6 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Top 10%
Cardholders 38% of residents · typical 41%Lower than 56%
Spending $70 per resident · typical $36Higher than 83%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Stark County District Library serves 241,356 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at Stark County District Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Stark County District Library system. The library’s own count.

664K
visits
2.8 per resident
2.4M
loans, print + digital
10 per resident
6,902
programs & events
111K attended
91K
library cards
38% of people served
Every week2,133people at a program
Every day757Wi-Fi sessions
161 staff (full-time equivalent)169 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

2.4M loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

2.4Mloans
Books & media (adults) 39%Kids’ books & media 28%E-books, audio & streaming 32%
From your couch

779,085 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

The buildings

4 places to borrow in Canton

Stark County District Library, 715 Market Ave North, Canton.

58
hours open a week
131,243
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Stark County District Library branch.

New in Canton? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

Other Stark County District Library branches in Canton

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.26 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Canton cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
1
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$528
a year at retail prices · $44 a month

Who pays for it
$70 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $17M.

Local taxes 54%State 40%Gifts & other 6%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $38M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $17M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 91,279 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
CantonStark County District Library fine-free—58A−
Canton TownshipSouthgate Branch Library fine-free—54C
Plain TownshipNorth Canton Public Library—47B
Osnaburg TownshipEast Canton Branch Library fine-free—54A−
Jackson TownshipJackson Community Branch Library fine-free—58B
North CantonNorth Canton Public Library—47B+
East CantonEast Canton Branch Library fine-free—54A−
Perry TownshipPerry Sippo fine-free—61C+
Nimishillen TownshipNone of its own——B
ReedurbanNone of its own——— unincorporated
Meyers LakeNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Stark County District Library serves 241,356 people in and around Canton, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Canton.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Canton

Does Canton have a public library?

Yes. Stark County District Library, 715 Market Ave North, serves 241,356 people in and around Canton (the survey’s count) and is open about 58 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Stark County District Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Canton’s library?

It logged 2.8 visits and lent 10.0 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Canton’s civic life grade?

A− Canton is ahead of 79% of U.S. towns on civic life, #231 of 914 in Ohio. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Canton.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.