Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Ashtabula

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Ashtabula West 5th StreetPhoto: Roland Penttila · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Ashtabula · Not graded

Crime reported in Ashtabula, OH

Ashtabula’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
32
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
166
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
10 mi
Jefferson (B)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 9 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (9.4)Violent crime (1.8)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Ashtabula1.8
Rest of OH3.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Ashtabula9.4
Rest of OH17.9
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Ashtabula’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Ohio. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearAshtabulaRest of OhioAshtabulaRest of Ohio
2022not reported22.6not reported4.0
2023not reported21.0not reported3.7
20249.219.81.93.9
20259.417.91.83.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

198 crimes reported in 2025

32 violent and 166 property, as reported to the FBI by Ashtabula’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft128
Burglary30
Vehicle theft8
Aggravated assault24
Robbery4
Rape3
Homicide1
Arson2
32
violent crimes
166
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Ohio towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
JeffersonB10 mi1.98.1
MadisonA−15 mi1.05.5
ChardonA30 mi0.05.5
MentorB−31 mi1.212.7
Mentor-on-the-LakeA−31 mi1.05.5
KirtlandA+34 mi0.20.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Ashtabula. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Ashtabula.

On the roads

Four people died in crashes on Ashtabula’s roads in 2019–2023

Ashtabula had 4 fatal crashes in five years, in which four people died.

That is about what is typical for Ohio towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (6.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Ashtabula’s size would see about 6 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Ashtabula’s own rate (4.5) is context, not a ranking.

4
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
4.5
per 100,000 a year · Ohio towns of 5,000–25,000: 6.9

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Ashtabula and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Edgewood———
Saybrook Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Edgewood is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own. Saybrook Township has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Ashtabula. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Ashtabula’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (17,725 in 2025); our figure for Ashtabula is 17,474 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Ashtabula

Is Ashtabula, OH safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Ashtabula. Ashtabula’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Ohio towns with a grade are Jefferson (B, 10 mi), Madison (A−, 15 mi), Chardon (A, 30 mi).

Who polices Ashtabula?

Ashtabula’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Ashtabula”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Ashtabula.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Ashtabula feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.