Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Independence

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Independence · Not graded

Crime reported in Independence, NY

Independence’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
9 mi
Wellsville (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 2 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (1.9)Violent crime (0.9)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Independence0.9
Rest of NY5.0
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Independence1.9
Rest of NY21.3
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Independence’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of New York. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearIndependenceRest of New YorkIndependenceRest of New York
20221.819.90.05.6
20231.922.20.05.1
20241.921.30.95.0
2025not reported19.7not reported4.9

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

3 crimes reported in 2024

1 violent and 2 property, as reported to the FBI by Independence’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft2
Burglary0
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
2
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest New York towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
WellsvilleC+9 mi1.316.1
AlfredA15 mi0.93.2
CanisteoA−19 mi0.96.0
FriendshipA+21 mi0.01.2
CubaB+25 mi1.18.0
AddisonB+30 mi1.07.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Independence. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Independence.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Independence’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for New York towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Independence’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Independence’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · New York towns of 2,500–5,000: 6.1

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Independence and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Willing———
Andover———
Wellsville———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Willing reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025. Andover and Wellsville have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Independence. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Independence’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,071 in 2024); our figure for Independence is 1,076 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Independence

Is Independence, NY safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Independence. Independence’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest New York towns with a grade are Wellsville (C+, 9 mi), Alfred (A, 15 mi), Canisteo (A−, 19 mi).

Who polices Independence?

Independence’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Independence Town”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Independence.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Independence feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.