Photo: Jared Kofsky/PlaceNJ.com · CC BY-SA 3.0Haledon Free Public Library serves Haledon’s 9,052 residents
Haledon Free Public Library serves Haledon’s 9,052 residents.
What’s behind Haledon’s civic life grade
On community nonprofits and volunteering, Haledon is ahead of 9% of U.S. towns, #407 of 466 in New Jersey. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Haledon is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Haledon’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.
The survey’s stand-in for Haledon’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.
Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($72K–$120K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
24 community nonprofits are registered in Haledon
2.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: education.
Community nonprofits, by kind
Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (10 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 2 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.
4.2%
4.2% of Haledon’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.2% in the typical New Jersey town and 7.5% nationally.
Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Haledon’s residents live; 2022.
A year at Haledon Public Library
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Find it
Haledon Public Library, 404 Morrissee Avenue, Haledon.















E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.
New in Haledon? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Haledon resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 9,052 people it serves ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
| Town | Library | Loans per resident | Hours | Civic life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wayne Township | Wayne Public Library fine-free | 6.5 | 67 | B+ |
| Preakness | Wayne Public Library fine-free | 6.5 | 67 | — graded as part of its town |
| North Haledon | No. Haledon Free Pub. Lib. fine-free | 5.0 | 59 | D |
| Totowa | Dwight D. Eisenhower Library fine-free | 2.9 | 46 | C |
| Paterson | Paterson Free Public Library | 0.3 | 60 | D− |
| Haledon | Haledon Public Library | — | — | D |
| Prospect Park | None of its own | — | — | D |
| William Paterson University of New Jersey | None of its own | — | — | — graded as part of its town |
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: visits. Haledon Free Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
- Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Haledon
Does Haledon have a public library?
Yes. Haledon Free Public Library, 404 Morrissee Avenue, serves Haledon’s 9,052 residents (the survey’s count).
How busy is Haledon’s library?
It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is Haledon’s civic life grade?
D Haledon is ahead of 9% of U.S. towns on civic life, #407 of 466 in New Jersey. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Haledon.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.