Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Cliffside Park

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Cliffside Park Free Public Library

Cliffside Park’s library runs 27 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 14 for libraries its size

Cliffside Park Free Public Library serves Cliffside Park’s 25,693 residents. Last year it lent 180K books, movies and e-books and logged 32K visits.

505 Palisade Avenue, Cliffside Park 07010 · about 61 hours a week
D−Civic lifeAhead of 2% of U.S. towns · #445 of 466 in New Jersey. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
180K
7 per resident
Visits a year
32K
1.2 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
687
about 13 a week · 8,144 attended
Cardholders
35%
8,987 cards
Open
61 hrs
a week
In brief

What Cliffside Park’s library is like

People borrow more than they stay

Borrowing per resident is higher than at 73% of similar-size libraries, but visits are lower than at 84%. People come in, pick up their books and go. How it compares ↓

Cliffside Park out-borrows every town next door

At 7 loans per resident, Cliffside Park leads the four towns here. The closest is Edgewater, at 5.9. Libraries next door ↓

Most programs are for young children

75% of the 687 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 4.7 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Cliffside Park’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Cliffside Park is ahead of 2% of U.S. towns, #445 of 466 in New Jersey. All three inputs sit below most U.S. towns; library visits come closest to the middle.

D−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Cliffside Park’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 2%
FewerMore
New Jersey towns we grade (466)Ahead of 5%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $70K–$117K (7,967)Near the bottom

Cliffside Park’s 2024 visits are an estimate from one typical week (the survey’s method for libraries that don’t count every visit).

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($70K–$117K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would still be D−. All three inputs point the same way, so the letter doesn’t hinge on one figure.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

40 community nonprofits are registered in Cliffside Park

1.6 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture30.12 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation40.16 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans80.31 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services120.47 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education60.23 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.04 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals20.08 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other40.16 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (15 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 3 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

3.3%

3.3% of Cliffside Park’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.2% in the typical New Jersey town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Cliffside Park’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 3 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.2 visits · typical 2.6Lower than 84%
Borrowing per resident 6.3 print items · typical 3.7Higher than 73%
Digital borrowing 0.8 e-items · typical 1.2Lower than 66%
Kids’ borrowing 1.1 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 66%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.3Lower than 52%
Programs offered 26.7 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Higher than 83%
Cardholders 35% of residents · typical 39%Lower than 60%
Spending $55 per resident · typical $40Higher than 68%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in NJ#205Most-used librariesof 234 towns
#89Most library borrowingof 234 towns
#157Best libraries for kidsof 215 towns
Size group

Cliffside Park Free Public Library serves 25,693 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 57 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

32K
visits
1.2 per resident
180K
loans, print + digital
7 per resident
687
programs & events
8,144 attended
8,987
library cards
35% of people served
Every open hour57items borrowed
Every week157people at a program
Every day19Wi-Fi sessions
8 staff (full-time equivalent)19 public computers

Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

180K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

180Kloans
Books & media (adults) 74%Kids’ books & media 15%E-books, audio & streaming 11%
From your couch

19,509 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 10 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Cliffside Park →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5245
Ages 6–11269
Teens115
Adults48
All ages10
Little ones
4.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
6

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Cliffside Park last year.

8,144
people at programs
687
programs
The building

Find it

Cliffside Park Free Library, 505 Palisade Avenue, Cliffside Park.

61
hours open a week
9,000
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Cliffside Park? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.12 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Cliffside Park cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$55 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $1.4M.

Local taxes 99%State 1%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $3M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1.4M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 8,987 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Cliffside Park borrows the most per resident of the 4 towns here. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Cliffside ParkCliffside Park Free Library fine-free7.061D−
EdgewaterEdgewater Free Public Library fine-free5.945C−
RidgefieldRidgefield Free Pub. Lib. fine-free4.4—D
FairviewFairview Free Public Library fine-free1.254D−

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Visits are a typical-week estimate. Cliffside Park Free Public Library counted one typical week and multiplied by 52, as the survey allows.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Cliffside Park

Does Cliffside Park have a public library?

Yes. Cliffside Park Free Public Library, 505 Palisade Avenue, serves Cliffside Park’s 25,693 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 61 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Cliffside Park Free Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Cliffside Park’s library?

It logged 1.2 visits and lent 7.0 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Cliffside Park’s civic life grade?

D− Cliffside Park is ahead of 2% of U.S. towns on civic life, #445 of 466 in New Jersey. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Cliffside Park.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.