Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Dalton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Dalton NH 5-19-26Photo: Ascended Dreamer · CC BY-SA 4.0
Dalton Public Library

Dalton’s library runs 129 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 60 for libraries its size

Dalton Public Library serves Dalton’s 946 residents. Last year it lent 1,832 books, movies and e-books and logged 676 visits.

756 Dalton Road, Dalton 03598 · about 10 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
1,832
1.9 per resident
Visits a year
676
0.7 per resident · Below typical (3.5)
Programs & events
122
about 2 a week · 590 attended
Open
10 hrs
a week
In brief

What Dalton’s library is like

Dalton Public Library is used less than most libraries its size

Dalton Public Library records 0.7 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries serving under 2,500 people. Borrowing is 0.8 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9. It also spends less than most: $14 per resident, against a typical $54. How it compares ↓

Every town next door borrows more

Dalton’s library lends 1.9 items per resident. Each of the three neighboring towns with a library of its own lends more, led by Lancaster at 8.6. Libraries next door ↓

Open only about 10 hours a week

Dalton Public Library keeps short hours: about 10 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. Littleton Public Library in Littleton, next door, is open about 39 hours a week. The building ↓

Most of Dalton’s borrowing is digital

E-books, e-audiobooks and streaming make up 61% of loans. Print still makes up 39%. What people borrow ↓

A small-town library

Dalton Public Library serves 946 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Dalton’s civic life grade

Dalton isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Dalton’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

★ What stands out · What people borrow

61% of borrowing is digital

1,832 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Dalton’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

How hard the shelves work
0.1×

Each of the 8,425 books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.1 time last year, on average.

From your couch

1,116 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.7 visits · typical 3.5Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 0.8 print items · typical 3.9Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 1.2 e-items · typical 1Higher than 55%
Program attendance 0.6 attendees · typical 0.7Lower than 53%
Programs offered 129 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Higher than 77%
Spending $14 per resident · typical $54Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Dalton Public Library serves 946 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 4 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

676
visits
0.7 per resident
1,832
loans, print + digital
1.9 per resident
122
programs & events
590 attended
Every open hour4items borrowed
Every week11people at a program
Every week13visits
3 public computers8,425 books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: library cards and funding. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

122 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Dalton →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–52
Ages 6–1116
Teens4
Adults100
All ages0
Little ones
0

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

590
people at programs
122
programs
The building

Find it

Dalton Public Library, 756 Dalton Road, Dalton.

10
hours open a week
1,248
square feet
8,425
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Dalton? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.59 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Dalton resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$14 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $13K.

Last year the library lent and hosted about $35K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $13K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 946 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Dalton ranks 4th of 4 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
LancasterWilliam D. Weeks Memorial Library fine-free8.634B+
WhitefieldWhitefield Public Library fine-free5.738B+
LittletonLittleton Public Library fine-free5.339A
DaltonDalton Public Library fine-free1.910— under 1,000 residents
LunenburgAlden Balch Memorial fine-free—18C
ConcordNone of its own——C+
GilmanNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: library cards and funding. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Visits are a typical-week estimate. Dalton Public Library counted one typical week and multiplied by 52, as the survey allows.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Dalton

Does Dalton have a public library?

Yes. Dalton Public Library, 756 Dalton Road, serves Dalton’s 946 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 10 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Dalton Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Dalton’s library?

It logged 0.7 visits and lent 1.9 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Dalton’s civic life grade?

Dalton isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Dalton.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.