Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Bartlett

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
BartlettNH SchoolAndLibraryPhoto: User:Magicpiano · CC BY-SA 4.0
Bartlett Public Library

Bartlett’s library runs 6.2 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 34 for libraries its size

Bartlett Public Library serves Bartlett’s 3,234 residents. Last year it lent 11K books, movies and e-books and drew 282 people to its programs.

1313 Us Rte 302, Bartlett 03812 · about 22 hours a week
A−Civic lifeAhead of 83% of U.S. towns · #23 of 126 in New Hampshire. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
11K
3.5 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
20
about 1 a week · 282 attended
Open
22 hrs
a week
In brief

What Bartlett’s library is like

Few programs for a library this size

Bartlett Public Library offered 20 programs last year, 6.2 per 1,000 residents against a typical 34. Kids & programs ↓

Runs on less money than most

Bartlett Public Library spends $15 per resident, less than 90% of similar-size libraries (typical: $43). What your card is worth ↓

Open only about 22 hours a week

Bartlett Public Library keeps short hours: about 22 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. Conway Public Library in Conway, next door, is open about 56 hours a week. The building ↓

A big collection for the borrowing it gets

Bartlett Public Library holds 23,000 books and other items, but the average item went out less than once last year. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Bartlett’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Bartlett is ahead of 83% of U.S. towns, #23 of 126 in New Hampshire. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Bartlett is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; Bartlett’s count of community nonprofits ranks highest.

A−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Bartlett’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 83%
FewerMore
New Hampshire towns we grade (126)Ahead of 82%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $45K–$75K (7,593)Ahead of 81%

The survey’s stand-in for Bartlett’s 2024 visits carries forward a 2022 figure, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Bartlett is small (3,335 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

28 community nonprofits are registered in Bartlett

8.5 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture20.61 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation103.02 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans10.40 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services31.04 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education61.86 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.34 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals20.61 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other20.64 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

7.8%

7.8% of Bartlett’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.9% in the typical New Hampshire town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Bartlett’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 5 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 2.4 print items · typical 3.8Lower than 71%
Digital borrowing 1.1 e-items · typical 1Higher than 54%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.5Bottom 10%
Programs offered 6.2 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Bottom 10%
Spending $15 per resident · typical $43Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in NH
#102Most library borrowingof 120 towns
Size group

Bartlett Public Library serves 3,234 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 10 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

11K
loans, print + digital
3.5 per resident
20
programs & events
282 attended
Every open hour10items borrowed
Every week5people at a program
Every day0Wi-Fi sessions
1 staff (full-time equivalent)2 public computers23K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits and library cards. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

11K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Bartlett’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

How hard the shelves work
0.3×

Each of the 23K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.3 time last year, on average.

From your couch

3,532 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

20 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Bartlett →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–50
Ages 6–110
Teens0
Adults20
All ages0
282
people at programs
20
programs
The building

Find it

Bartlett Public Library, 1313 Us Rte 302, Bartlett.

22
hours open a week
2,600
square feet
23K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Bartlett? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $3.78 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Bartlett resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$15 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $50K.

Local taxes 100%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $189K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $50K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 3,234 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Bartlett ranks 3rd of 4 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
JacksonJackson Public Library fine-free18.228A+
ConwayConway Public Library fine-free6.656A
BartlettBartlett Public Library fine-free3.522A−
North ConwayPope Memorial Library fine-free2.645— graded as part of its town
AlbanyNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Hart's LocationNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
ChathamNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Bartlett Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2022 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Bartlett

Does Bartlett have a public library?

Yes. Bartlett Public Library, 1313 Us Rte 302, serves Bartlett’s 3,234 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 22 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Bartlett Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Bartlett’s library?

It lent 3.5 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 20 programs that drew 282 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Bartlett’s civic life grade?

A− Bartlett is ahead of 83% of U.S. towns on civic life, #23 of 126 in New Hampshire. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Bartlett.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.