Photo: Ammodramus · Public domainHarvard Public Library serves Harvard’s 945 residents
Harvard Public Library serves Harvard’s 945 residents.
What stands out about Harvard’s library
Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.
What’s behind Harvard’s civic life grade
Harvard isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
A National Register landmark since 2022
Harvard Public Library, 309 North Clay Avenue, Harvard.















Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
Harvard Carnegie Library
Harvard Carnegie Library was added to the National Register of Historic Places on Mar 8, 2022. It is significant for its education at the local level. It was listed as part of Carnegie Libraries in Nebraska MPS.
More about the building →A year at Harvard Public Library
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Harvard resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 945 people it serves ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: visits. Harvard Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2021 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.
- Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Harvard
Does Harvard have a public library?
Yes. Harvard Public Library, 309 North Clay Avenue, serves Harvard’s 945 residents (the survey’s count).
How busy is Harvard’s library?
It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is Harvard’s civic life grade?
Harvard isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Harvard.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. Building history: National Park Service, National Register of Historic Places. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.