Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Rolla

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Rolla · Not graded

Crime reported in Rolla, ND

Rolla’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
18
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
87 mi
Minot (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 16 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (15.7)Violent crime (0.9)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Rolla0.9
Rest of ND3.3
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Rolla15.7
Rest of ND23.4
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Rolla’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of North Dakota. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearRollaRest of North DakotaRollaRest of North Dakota
202211.926.70.93.5
202317.926.00.03.4
202415.723.40.93.3
2025not reported20.1not reported2.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

19 crimes reported in 2024

1 violent and 18 property, as reported to the FBI by Rolla’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft15
Burglary2
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
18
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest North Dakota towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
MinotC87 mi3.313.4
GraftonB105 mi1.39.9
Grand ForksC−132 mi3.022.8
JamestownB−140 mi1.414.9
New TownA+145 mi0.11.0
BeulahB+148 mi1.26.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Rolla. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Rolla.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Rolla’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for North Dakota towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (0.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Rolla’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Rolla’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · North Dakota towns of 2,500–5,000: 0.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Rolla and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Rolla
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Rolla. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Rolla’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,148 in 2024); our figure for Rolla is 1,156 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Rolla

Is Rolla, ND safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Rolla. Rolla’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest North Dakota towns with a grade are Minot (C, 87 mi), Grafton (B, 105 mi), Grand Forks (C−, 132 mi).

Who polices Rolla?

Rolla’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Rolla”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Rolla.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Rolla feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.