Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Oakes

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Klein and Sutmar BlockPhoto: Andrew Filer · CC BY-SA 2.0
Safety in Oakes · Not graded

Crime reported in Oakes, ND

Oakes’ police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
54 mi
Valley City (B)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, no property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (0)Violent crime (0.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Oakes0.6
Rest of ND3.4
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Oakes0.0
Rest of ND26.0
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Oakes’ police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of North Dakota. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearOakesRest of North DakotaOakesRest of North Dakota
20222.826.70.03.6
20230.026.00.63.4
2024not reported23.4not reported3.3
2025not reported20.1not reported2.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

1 crime reported in 2023

1 violent and 0 property, as reported to the FBI by Oakes’ police.

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft0
Burglary0
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
0
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest North Dakota towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Valley CityB54 mi0.910.7
JamestownB−60 mi1.414.9
WahpetonC+71 mi2.116.4
West FargoB−75 mi1.810.9
FargoD78 mi4.636.0
LincolnA−131 mi0.64.8

Straight-line distance from the center of Oakes. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Oakes.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Oakes’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for North Dakota towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (0.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Oakes’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Oakes’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · North Dakota towns of 2,500–5,000: 0.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Oakes and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Oakes
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Oakes. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Oakes’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,758 in 2023); our figure for Oakes is 1,765 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Oakes

Is Oakes, ND safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Oakes. Oakes’ police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest North Dakota towns with a grade are Valley City (B, 54 mi), Jamestown (B−, 60 mi), Wahpeton (C+, 71 mi).

Who polices Oakes?

Oakes’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Oakes”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Oakes.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Oakes feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.