Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Spruce Pine

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Downtown Spruce Pine NCPhoto: Kubigula · Public domain
Safety in Spruce Pine · Not graded

Crime recorded in Spruce Pine, and why it isn’t graded

The closest graded town is Marion, 17 miles away, at D. Spruce Pine’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Out to 25 miles, the count of graded towns reaches 2.

Violent crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
33
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
17 mi
Marion (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 15 property crimes reported

Property crime (15.1)Violent crime (0.9)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Spruce Pine0.9
Rest of NC5.3
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Spruce Pine15.1
Rest of NC28.8
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Spruce Pine’s police reported

Show as a table
YearSpruce PineRest of North CarolinaSpruce PineRest of North Carolina
20221.328.90.05.7
2023not reported29.6not reported5.5
202415.128.80.95.3
2025not reported25.2not reported4.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of North Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

35 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft23
Burglary6
Vehicle theft4
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape2
Homicide0
Arson0
2
violent crimes
33
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

2 violent and 33 property, as reported to the FBI by Spruce Pine’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest North Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
MarionD17 mi2.034.2
Banner ElkA20 mi0.34.0
Black MountainB25 mi0.512.0
Blowing RockC27 mi1.022.4
ValdeseC30 mi2.118.7
BooneB31 mi1.210.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Spruce Pine. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Spruce Pine.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Spruce Pine’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for North Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Spruce Pine’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Spruce Pine’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · North Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Spruce Pine and its neighbors

Spruce Pine
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Spruce Pine. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Spruce Pine’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,189 in 2024); our figure for Spruce Pine is 2,211 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Spruce Pine

Is Spruce Pine, NC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Spruce Pine. The nearest North Carolina towns with a grade are Marion (D, 17 mi), Banner Elk (A, 20 mi), Black Mountain (B, 25 mi).

Who polices Spruce Pine?

Spruce Pine’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Spruce Pine”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Spruce Pine feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Spruce Pine.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.