Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Mount Olive

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Southerland-Burnette HouseSoutherland-Burnette House · Photo: Quincy Morgan · CC0
Safety in Mount Olive · Not graded

Crime reported in Mount Olive, NC

Mount Olive’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
13
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
126
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
13 mi
Goldsboro (D−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 29 property crimes reported

And about 3 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (29.4)Violent crime (3)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Mount Olive3.0
Rest of NC5.3
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Mount Olive29.4
Rest of NC28.8
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Mount Olive’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of North Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearMount OliveRest of North CarolinaMount OliveRest of North Carolina
202225.828.92.25.7
202319.829.62.45.5
202429.428.83.05.3
2025not reported25.2not reported4.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

139 crimes reported in 2024

13 violent and 126 property, as reported to the FBI by Mount Olive’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft104
Burglary12
Vehicle theft10
Aggravated assault13
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
13
violent crimes
126
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest North Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
GoldsboroD−13 mi12.353.5
WarsawD14 mi5.227.7
ClintonD20 mi5.934.2
Pine LevelA−24 mi0.36.8
BeulavilleD25 mi5.543.2
Four OaksB−26 mi2.19.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Mount Olive. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Mount Olive.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Mount Olive’s roads in 2019–2023

Mount Olive had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for North Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Mount Olive’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Mount Olive’s own rate (4.5) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
4.5
per 100,000 a year · North Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Mount Olive and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Mount Olive
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Mount Olive. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Mount Olive’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (4,280 in 2024); our figure for Mount Olive is 4,521 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Mount Olive

Is Mount Olive, NC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Mount Olive. Mount Olive’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest North Carolina towns with a grade are Goldsboro (D−, 13 mi), Warsaw (D, 14 mi), Clinton (D, 20 mi).

Who polices Mount Olive?

Mount Olive’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Mount Olive”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Mount Olive.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Mount Olive feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.