Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Denton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Lewis-Thornburg FarmLewis-Thornburg Farm · Photo: James Conder · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Denton · Not graded

Crime reported in Denton, NC

Denton’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
35
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
14 mi
Lexington (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 22 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (21.8)Violent crime (1.9)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Denton1.9
Rest of NC4.4
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Denton21.8
Rest of NC25.2
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Denton’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of North Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearDentonRest of North CarolinaDentonRest of North Carolina
2022not reported28.9not reported5.7
2023not reported29.6not reported5.5
2024not reported28.8not reported5.3
202521.825.21.94.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

38 crimes reported in 2025

3 violent and 35 property, as reported to the FBI by Denton’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft19
Burglary16
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault3
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
3
violent crimes
35
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest North Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
LexingtonD14 mi4.929.4
AsheboroC−18 mi3.324.8
SpencerC18 mi3.115.3
Granite QuarryB−19 mi1.610.7
ArchdaleB−20 mi1.013.2
RandlemanC−21 mi2.428.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Denton. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Denton.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Denton’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for North Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Denton’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Denton’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · North Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Denton and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Denton
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Denton. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Denton’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,603 in 2025); our figure for Denton is 1,610 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Denton

Is Denton, NC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Denton. Denton’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest North Carolina towns with a grade are Lexington (D, 14 mi), Asheboro (C−, 18 mi), Spencer (C, 18 mi).

Who polices Denton?

Denton’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Denton”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Denton.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Denton feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.