Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Carthage

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
MOORE COUNTY COURTHOUSE, CARTHAGE, MOORE COUNTYPhoto: Jerrye & Roy Klotz, MD · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Carthage · Not graded

Crime reported in Carthage, NC

Carthage has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
5
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
64
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
6 mi
Whispering Pines (A+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 23 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (22.5)Violent crime (1.8)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Carthage1.8
Rest of NC5.7
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Carthage22.5
Rest of NC28.9
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Carthage’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of North Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearCarthageRest of North CarolinaCarthageRest of North Carolina
202222.528.91.85.7
2023not reported29.6not reported5.5
2024not reported28.8not reported5.3
2025not reported25.2not reported4.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

69 crimes reported in 2022

5 violent and 64 property, as reported to the FBI by Carthage’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft46
Burglary12
Vehicle theft6
Aggravated assault3
Robbery0
Rape2
Homicide0
Arson0
5
violent crimes
64
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest North Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Whispering PinesA+6 mi0.12.7
Southern PinesC−9 mi3.519.7
PinehurstA10 mi0.53.0
AberdeenC−13 mi2.531.6
BiscoeC−21 mi0.934.6
BroadwayB22 mi0.712.5

Straight-line distance from the center of Carthage. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Carthage.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Carthage’s roads in 2019–2023

Carthage had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for North Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Carthage’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Carthage’s own rate (13.8) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
13.8
per 100,000 a year · North Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Carthage and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Southern Pines: Safety Grade C−Southern PinesCarthage
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Southern PinesC−3.519.7

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Carthage. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Carthage’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,839 in 2022); our figure for Carthage is 3,070 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Carthage

Is Carthage, NC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Carthage. Carthage has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest North Carolina towns with a grade are Whispering Pines (A+, 6 mi), Southern Pines (C−, 9 mi), Pinehurst (A, 10 mi).

Who polices Carthage?

Carthage’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Carthage”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Carthage.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Carthage feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.