Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Eureka

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Eureka Montana Downtown Looking NorthwestPhoto: Royalbroil · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Eureka · Not graded

Crime reported in Eureka, MT

Eureka’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
13
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
41 mi
Libby (B)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 8 property crimes reported

And no violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (8.1)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Eureka0.0
Rest of MT5.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Eureka8.1
Rest of MT22.7
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Eureka’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Montana. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearEurekaRest of MontanaEurekaRest of Montana
2022not reported31.0not reported6.0
2023not reported29.5not reported5.8
20243.825.51.95.4
20258.122.70.05.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

13 crimes reported in 2025

0 violent and 13 property, as reported to the FBI by Eureka’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft10
Burglary0
Vehicle theft3
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
13
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Montana towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
LibbyB41 mi2.56.2
WhitefishB−44 mi1.612.1
Columbia FallsC+53 mi2.714.9
KalispellC−56 mi3.721.2
Thompson FallsB−89 mi2.67.6
PolsonD−92 mi9.731.5

Straight-line distance from the center of Eureka. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Eureka.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Eureka’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Montana towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (0.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Eureka’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Eureka’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Montana towns of 2,500–5,000: 0.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Eureka and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Eureka
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Eureka. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Eureka’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,607 in 2025); our figure for Eureka is 1,562 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Eureka

Is Eureka, MT safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Eureka. Eureka’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Montana towns with a grade are Libby (B, 41 mi), Whitefish (B−, 44 mi), Columbia Falls (C+, 53 mi).

Who polices Eureka?

Eureka’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Eureka”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Eureka.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Eureka feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.