Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Boneau

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Stone Child College

Boneau’s library logs 3.7 visits per resident, against a typical 3 for libraries its size

Stone Child College serves 4,092 people in and around Boneau. Last year it logged 15K visits.

8294 Upper Box Elder Rd, Box Elder 59521 · about 40 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Visits a year
15K
3.7 per resident · Above typical (3)
Programs & events
20
about 1 a week · 662 attended
Cardholders
23%
955 cards
Open
40 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Stone Child College

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Boneau’s civic life grade

Boneau isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Boneau’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 5 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 3.7 visits · typical 3Higher than 61%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.5Lower than 82%
Programs offered 4.9 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Bottom 10%
Cardholders 23% of residents · typical 42%Lower than 81%
Spending $42 per resident · typical $43Lower than 52%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Stone Child College serves 4,092 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

A year at Stone Child College

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Stone Child College system. The library’s own count.

15K
visits
3.7 per resident
20
programs & events
662 attended
955
library cards
23% of people served
Every week13people at a program
Every week293visits
2 staff (full-time equivalent)10 public computers

Loans aren’t shown: this year’s report counted only 351 items borrowed against 15K visits, so we leave the count out.

Not reported for 2024: funding. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

20 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Boneau →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–50
Ages 6–110
Teens0
Adults4
All ages16
662
people at programs
20
programs
The building

Find it

Stone Child College, 8294 Upper Box Elder Rd, Box Elder.

40
hours open a week
4,444
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Stone Child College branch.

New in Boneau? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Boneau cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$42 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $170K.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 955 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
BoneauStone Child College fine-free—40— under 1,000 residents
SangreyNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: funding. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Stone Child College serves 4,092 people in and around Boneau, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Boneau.
  • Loans left out. This year’s loan count is far below the library’s visits and shelves, so we leave it out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Boneau

Does Boneau have a public library?

Yes. Stone Child College, 8294 Upper Box Elder Rd, serves 4,092 people in and around Boneau (the survey’s count) and is open about 40 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Stone Child College fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Boneau’s library?

It logged 3.7 visits per resident in 2024, against a typical 3 visits for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people.

What is Boneau’s civic life grade?

Boneau isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Boneau.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.