Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Morton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Downtown Morton MSPhoto: Bart Everson · CC BY 2.0
Safety in Morton · Not graded

Crime reported in Morton, MS

Morton has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
22
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
37
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
11 mi
Forest (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 10 property crimes reported

And about 6 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (10.4)Violent crime (6.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Morton6.2
Rest of MS2.9
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Morton10.4
Rest of MS25.2
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Morton’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Mississippi. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearMortonRest of MississippiMortonRest of Mississippi
202210.425.26.22.9
2023not reported24.5not reported2.5
2024not reported22.1not reported2.5
2025not reported19.1not reported3.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

59 crimes reported in 2022

22 violent and 37 property, as reported to the FBI by Morton’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft21
Burglary10
Vehicle theft6
Aggravated assault19
Robbery1
Rape0
Homicide2
Arson0
22
violent crimes
37
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Mississippi towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
ForestC−11 mi5.412.3
BrandonA20 mi0.73.4
FlowoodC+24 mi1.021.0
MadisonA29 mi0.44.6
RichlandB30 mi1.210.1
Bay SpringsC+34 mi2.612.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Morton. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Morton.

On the roads

10 people died in crashes on Morton’s roads in 2019–2023

Morton had 9 fatal crashes in five years, in which 10 people died; 2 were cyclists. 4 died in crashes on an Interstate.

That is 54.7 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, above the median for Mississippi towns of 2,500–5,000 people (14.9, 36 towns).

10
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
2
cyclists among them
54.7
per 100,000 a year · Mississippi towns of 2,500–5,000: 14.9

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Morton and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Pelahatchie: not gradedPelahatchieMorton
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Pelahatchie———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Pelahatchie has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Morton. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Morton’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (3,558 in 2022); our figure for Morton is 3,694 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Morton

Is Morton, MS safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Morton. Morton has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Mississippi towns with a grade are Forest (C−, 11 mi), Brandon (A, 20 mi), Flowood (C+, 24 mi).

Who polices Morton?

Morton’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Morton”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Morton.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Morton feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.