Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Collins

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Covington County Courthouse, Collins, MS 2015Photo: JonathanTheLibrarian · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Collins · Not graded

Crime reported in Collins, MS

Collins’ police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
11
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
45
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
21 mi
Ellisville (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 20 property crimes reported

And about 5 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (20.3)Violent crime (5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Collins5.0
Rest of MS3.0
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Collins20.3
Rest of MS19.1
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Collins’ police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Mississippi. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearCollinsRest of MississippiCollinsRest of Mississippi
202226.925.15.42.9
2023not reported24.5not reported2.5
2024not reported22.1not reported2.5
202520.319.15.03.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

56 crimes reported in 2025

11 violent and 45 property, as reported to the FBI by Collins’ police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft37
Burglary3
Vehicle theft5
Aggravated assault10
Robbery1
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
11
violent crimes
45
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Mississippi towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
EllisvilleB−21 mi1.813.3
LaurelD−25 mi9.438.7
HattiesburgD28 mi2.437.6
Bay SpringsC+28 mi2.612.1
PetalA29 mi0.74.1
ForestC−49 mi5.412.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Collins. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Collins.

On the roads

Five people died in crashes on Collins’s roads in 2019–2023

Collins had 4 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died.

That is more than is typical for Mississippi towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (14.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Collins’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Collins’s own rate (40.7) is context, not a ranking.

5
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
40.7
per 100,000 a year · Mississippi towns of 2,500–5,000: 14.9

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Collins and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Collins
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Collins. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Collins’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,218 in 2025); our figure for Collins is 2,232 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Collins

Is Collins, MS safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Collins. Collins’ police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Mississippi towns with a grade are Ellisville (B−, 21 mi), Laurel (D−, 25 mi), Hattiesburg (D, 28 mi).

Who polices Collins?

Collins’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Collins”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Collins.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Collins feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.