Photo: Dcoetzee · Public domainCrime reported in Wright City, MO
Wright City’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, about 5 property crimes reported
And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
The years Wright City’s police reported
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Missouri. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
Show as a table
| Year | Wright City | Rest of Missouri | Wright City | Rest of Missouri |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 5.0 | 31.9 | 3.4 | 6.4 |
| 2023 | 3.5 | 28.8 | 3.3 | 5.9 |
| 2024 | 4.9 | 27.0 | 1.4 | 6.0 |
| 2025 | not reported | 22.9 | not reported | 5.4 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
35 crimes reported in 2024
8 violent and 27 property, as reported to the FBI by Wright City’s police.
2024 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
The nearest Missouri towns with a Safety Grade
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Warrenton | B+ | 6 mi | 1.1 | 7.4 |
| Wentzville | B | 9 mi | 1.5 | 8.2 |
| Moscow Mills | A− | 10 mi | 1.0 | 3.5 |
| Troy | B | 10 mi | 1.5 | 10.2 |
| Lake St. Louis | A− | 14 mi | 0.8 | 4.6 |
| O'Fallon | A− | 17 mi | 0.8 | 5.7 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Wright City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Wright City.
Five people died in crashes on Wright City’s roads in 2019–2023
Wright City had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died. Most of these deaths (4 of 5) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.
That is more than is typical for Missouri towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (7.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Wright City’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Wright City’s own rate (19.1) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Wright City and its neighbors
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Warrenton | B+ | 1.1 | 7.4 |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Wright City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Wright City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (5,529 in 2024); our figure for Wright City is 5,854 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Wright City
Is Wright City, MO safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Wright City. Wright City’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Missouri towns with a grade are Warrenton (B+, 6 mi), Wentzville (B, 9 mi), Moscow Mills (A−, 10 mi).
Who polices Wright City?
Wright City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Wright City”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Neighbors looking out for each other in Wright City.
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.