Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Carterville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Carterville · Not graded

Crime reported in Carterville, MO

Carterville’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
28
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
2 mi
Webb City (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 15 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (15.1)Violent crime (2.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Carterville2.2
Rest of MO6.0
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Carterville15.1
Rest of MO27.0
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Carterville’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Missouri. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearCartervilleRest of MissouriCartervilleRest of Missouri
202217.931.81.16.4
202312.428.85.45.9
202415.127.02.26.0
2025not reported22.9not reported5.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

32 crimes reported in 2024

4 violent and 28 property, as reported to the FBI by Carterville’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft18
Burglary7
Vehicle theft3
Aggravated assault4
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
4
violent crimes
28
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Missouri towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Webb CityC2 mi2.620.8
OronogoA3 mi1.02.8
Carl JunctionB−6 mi2.67.1
JoplinD6 mi5.442.6
CarthageB−6 mi1.513.7
NeoshoC21 mi2.320.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Carterville. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Carterville.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Carterville’s roads in 2019–2023

Carterville had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Missouri towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Carterville’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Carterville’s own rate (9.6) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
9.6
per 100,000 a year · Missouri towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Carterville and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Webb City: Safety Grade CWebb CityCarterville
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Webb CityC2.620.8

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Carterville. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Carterville’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,852 in 2024); our figure for Carterville is 1,869 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Carterville

Is Carterville, MO safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Carterville. Carterville’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Missouri towns with a grade are Webb City (C, 2 mi), Oronogo (A, 3 mi), Carl Junction (B−, 6 mi).

Who polices Carterville?

Carterville’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Carterville”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Carterville.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Carterville feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.