Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Billings

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Billings MO City HallPhoto: Hog Farm · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Billings · Not graded

Crime reported in Billings, MO

Billings’ police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
22
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
11 mi
Republic (B)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 18 property crimes reported

And no violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (18.2)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Billings0.0
Rest of MO5.4
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Billings18.2
Rest of MO22.9
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Billings’ police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Missouri. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearBillingsRest of MissouriBillingsRest of Missouri
2022not reported31.8not reported6.4
2023not reported28.8not reported5.9
20245.027.00.06.0
202518.222.90.05.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

22 crimes reported in 2025

0 violent and 22 property, as reported to the FBI by Billings’ police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft2
Burglary19
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
22
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Missouri towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
RepublicB11 mi1.29.5
BattlefieldB11 mi2.44.4
NixaA−14 mi0.46.7
Mount VernonB15 mi0.612.3
SpringfieldD−17 mi11.940.4
WillardB+18 mi2.14.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Billings. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Billings.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Billings’s roads in 2019–2023

Billings had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Missouri towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Billings’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Billings’s own rate (23.7) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
23.7
per 100,000 a year · Missouri towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Billings and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Clever: not gradedCleverBillings
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Clever———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Clever has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Billings. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Billings’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,208 in 2025); our figure for Billings is 1,182 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Billings

Is Billings, MO safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Billings. Billings’ police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Missouri towns with a grade are Republic (B, 11 mi), Battlefield (B, 11 mi), Nixa (A−, 14 mi).

Who polices Billings?

Billings’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Billings”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Billings.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Billings feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.