Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Kinney

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Kinney Public Library

Kinney Public Library serves Kinney’s 594 residents

Kinney Public Library serves Kinney’s 594 residents.

400 Main Street, Kinney 55758 · about 17 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Open
17 hrs
a week
In brief

What Kinney’s library is like

Few programs for a library this size

Kinney Public Library offered 0 programs last year, 0 per 1,000 residents against a typical 60.

Open only about 17 hours a week

Kinney Public Library keeps short hours: about 17 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Kinney’s civic life grade

Kinney isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Kinney’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 4 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Digital borrowing 0 e-items · typical 1Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.7Bottom 10%
Programs offered 0 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Bottom 10%
Cardholders 0% of residents · typical 54%Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Kinney Public Library serves 594 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

A year at Kinney Public Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

0
programs & events
0 attended
0
library cards
0% of people served
1 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits, print loans, books & media on the shelves, spending, funding and staff. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Kinney Public Library, 400 Main Street, Kinney.

17
hours open a week
1,728
square feet
With a card

No late fees.

New in Kinney? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Kinney resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 594 people it serves ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Kinney Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans, books & media on the shelves, spending, funding and staff. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Kinney

Does Kinney have a public library?

Yes. Kinney Public Library, 400 Main Street, serves Kinney’s 594 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 17 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Kinney Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Kinney’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Kinney’s civic life grade?

Kinney isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Kinney.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.