Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Emily

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Welcome to Emily signPhoto: Lorie Shaull · CC BY-SA 4.0
Emily Public Library

Emily Public Library serves Emily’s 869 residents

Emily Public Library serves Emily’s 869 residents.

39811 State Highway 6, Emily 56447 · about 32 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Open
32 hrs
a week
In brief

Emily’s library, in brief

Few programs for a library this size

Emily Public Library offered 0 programs last year, 0 per 1,000 residents against a typical 60.

A small-town library

Emily Public Library serves 869 residents with about one full-time staff, open about 32 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

Runs on less money than most

Emily Public Library spends $4 per resident, less than 99% of similar-size libraries (typical: $54). What your card is worth ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Emily’s civic life grade

Emily isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Emily’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 5 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Digital borrowing 0 e-items · typical 1Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.7Bottom 10%
Programs offered 0 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Bottom 10%
Cardholders 0% of residents · typical 54%Bottom 10%
Spending $4 per resident · typical $54Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Emily Public Library serves 869 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

A year at City of Emily Public Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

0
programs & events
0 attended
0
library cards
0% of people served
1 public computers7,646 books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

City of Emily Public Library, 39811 State Highway 6, Emily.

32
hours open a week
784
square feet
7,646
books & media
With a card

No late fees.

New in Emily? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Emily resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$4 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $3,651.

Local taxes 90%Gifts & other 10%

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 869 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
EmilyCity of Emily Public Library fine-free—32— under 1,000 residents
Fifty LakesNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Crooked Lake TownshipNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Fairfield TownshipNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Little Pine TownshipNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Emily Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Emily

Does Emily have a public library?

Yes. Emily Public Library, 39811 State Highway 6, serves Emily’s 869 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 32 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Emily Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Emily’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Emily’s civic life grade?

Emily isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Emily.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.