Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Ovid

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Main Street Building, United Church of OvidMain Street Building, United Church of Ovid · Photo: GPWITT · CC BY-SA 3.0
Ovid Public Library

Ovid’s library runs 20 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 34 for libraries its size

Ovid Public Library serves 5,198 people in and around Ovid. Last year it logged 17K visits.

206 North Main Street, Ovid 48866 · about 33 hours a week
B+Civic lifeAhead of 70% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
17K
3.3 per resident · Above typical (3)
Programs & events
106
about 2 a week · 1,429 attended
Cardholders
92%
4,791 cards
Open
33 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Ovid Public Library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Ovid’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Ovid is ahead of 70% of U.S. towns. Ovid is graded on two of the three inputs. The share of younger adults in volunteering groups holds the grade up; Ovid’s count of community nonprofits pulls it down.

B+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Ovid’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 70%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $38K–$63K (5,006)Ahead of 68%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Ovid is small (1,498 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

4 community nonprofits are registered in Ovid

2.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation10.44 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans21.61 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services00.22 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.22 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.22 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

16.0%

16.0% of Ovid’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 12.4% in the typical Michigan town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Ovid’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 3.3 visits · typical 3Higher than 55%
Kids’ borrowing 1.1 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 64%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.5Lower than 70%
Programs offered 20.4 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Lower than 70%
Cardholders 92% of residents · typical 42%Higher than 88%
Spending $26 per resident · typical $43Lower than 76%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Ovid Public Library serves 5,198 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

A year at Ovid Public Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Ovid Public Library system. The library’s own count.

17K
visits
3.3 per resident
106
programs & events
1,429 attended
4,791
library cards
92% of people served
Every week27people at a program
Every day3Wi-Fi sessions
2 staff (full-time equivalent)5 public computers

Not reported for 2024: print loans and books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

106 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Ovid →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–520
Ages 6–1114
Teens16
Adults31
All ages25
Little ones
0.4

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

5,878
kids’ books & media borrowed
1,429
people at programs
106
programs
The building

Find it

Ovid Public Library, 206 North Main Street, Ovid.

33
hours open a week
3,700
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Ovid Public Library branch.

New in Ovid? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Ovid cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$26 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $137K.

Local taxes 93%State 4%Gifts & other 4%

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 4,791 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
OvidOvid Public Library fine-free—33B+
Ovid TownshipNone of its own——B
Middlebury TownshipNone of its own——B

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: print loans and books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Ovid Public Library serves 5,198 people in and around Ovid, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Ovid.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Ovid

Does Ovid have a public library?

Yes. Ovid Public Library, 206 North Main Street, serves 5,198 people in and around Ovid (the survey’s count) and is open about 33 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Ovid Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Ovid’s library?

It logged 3.3 visits per resident in 2024, against a typical 3 visits for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people.

What is Ovid’s civic life grade?

B+ Ovid is ahead of 70% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Ovid.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.