Mulliken’s library logs 1 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size
Mulliken District Library serves 1,748 people in and around Mulliken. Last year it logged 1,788 visits.
The short version on Mulliken’s library
Few programs for a library this size
Mulliken District Library offered 7 programs last year, 4 per 1,000 residents against a typical 60. Kids & programs ↓
Open only about 18 hours a week
The Mulliken branch keeps short hours: about 18 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓
Nearly everyone the system serves has a card
1,616 cards for 1,748 people, or 92%. At the typical library serving under 2,500 people, it’s 54%. How it compares ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Mulliken District Library serves 1,748 people in and around Mulliken, and its numbers cover all of them; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.
What’s behind Mulliken’s civic life grade
Mulliken isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 6 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.
Mulliken District Library serves 1,748 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.
A year at Mulliken District Library
Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Mulliken District Library system. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: print loans and books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
7 programs a year
Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
Find it
Mulliken District Library, 135 Main Street, Mulliken.















E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Mulliken District Library branch.
New in Mulliken? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Mulliken cardholder borrows.
Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $73K.
Late fines apply to some overdue items.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 1,616 cardholders ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: print loans and books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- System-wide. Mulliken District Library serves 1,748 people in and around Mulliken, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Mulliken.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Mulliken
Does Mulliken have a public library?
Yes. Mulliken District Library, 135 Main Street, serves 1,748 people in and around Mulliken (the survey’s count) and is open about 18 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Mulliken District Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?
It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Mulliken’s library?
It logged 1.0 visits per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.
What is Mulliken’s civic life grade?
Mulliken isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Mulliken.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.