Mio’s library logs 1.5 visits per resident, against a typical 3 for libraries its size
Oscoda County District Library serves 8,219 people in and around Mio. Last year it logged 13K visits.
What Mio’s library is like
Few programs for a library this size
Oscoda County District Library offered 74 programs last year, 9 per 1,000 residents against a typical 34. Kids & programs ↓
Most programs are for young children
70% of the 74 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including 32 for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Oscoda County District Library serves 8,219 people in and around Mio, and its numbers cover all of them.
What’s behind Mio’s civic life grade
Mio isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 6 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.
Oscoda County District Library serves 8,219 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.
A year at Oscoda County District Library
Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Oscoda County District Library system. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: print loans and books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
About 1 kids’ program a week
Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
Find it
Oscoda County District Library, 430 West Eighth Street, Mio.















E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Oscoda County District Library branch.
New in Mio? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Mio cardholder borrows.
Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $299K.
Late fines apply to some overdue items.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 5,280 cardholders ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
| Town | Library | Loans per resident | Hours | Civic life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mio | Oscoda County District Library | — | 43 | — graded as part of its town |
| Comins Township | Fairview Branch Library | — | 24 | A |
| Mentor Township | None of its own | — | — | A |
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: print loans and books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- System-wide. Oscoda County District Library serves 8,219 people in and around Mio, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Mio.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Mio
Does Mio have a public library?
Yes. Oscoda County District Library, 430 West Eighth Street, serves 8,219 people in and around Mio (the survey’s count) and is open about 43 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Oscoda County District Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?
It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Mio’s library?
It logged 1.5 visits per resident in 2024, against a typical 3 visits for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people.
What is Mio’s civic life grade?
Mio isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Mio.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.