Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Curtis Township

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Curtis Township Library

Curtis Township Library serves Curtis Township’s 1,087 residents

Curtis Township Library serves Curtis Township’s 1,087 residents.

4884 Bamfield Road, Glennie 48737 · about 15 hours a week
B+Civic lifeAhead of 72% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Open
15 hrs
a week
In brief

Curtis Township’s library, in brief

Few programs for a library this size

Curtis Township Library offered 0 programs last year, 0 per 1,000 residents against a typical 60.

Open only about 15 hours a week

Curtis Township Library keeps short hours: about 15 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. Robert J. Parks Library in Oscoda Township, next door, is open about 47 hours a week. The building ↓

A small-town library

Curtis Township Library serves 1,087 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Curtis Township’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Curtis Township is ahead of 72% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Curtis Township is graded on two of the three inputs. The share of younger adults in volunteering groups holds the grade up; Curtis Township’s count of community nonprofits pulls it down.

B+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Curtis Township’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 72%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $29K–$49K (1,779)Ahead of 77%

The survey’s stand-in for Curtis Township’s 2024 visits carries forward a 2023 figure, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Curtis Township is small (1,145 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

3 community nonprofits are registered in Curtis Township

2.8 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation10.71 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans10.71 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education10.71 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.71 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

17.7%

17.7% of Curtis Township’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 12.4% in the typical Michigan town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Curtis Township’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 2 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.7Bottom 10%
Programs offered 0 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Curtis Township Library serves 1,087 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

A year at Curtis Township Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

0
programs & events
0 attended

Not reported for 2024: visits, print loans, books & media on the shelves, library cards, spending, funding and public computers. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Curtis Township Library, 4884 Bamfield Road, Glennie.

15
hours open a week
3,796
square feet

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Curtis Township resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 1,087 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Plainfield TownshipPlainfield Township Library fine-free2.835A
Oscoda TownshipRobert J. Parks Library fine-free2.847A
Curtis TownshipCurtis Township Library fine-free—15B+
Mikado TownshipMikado Township Library fine-free—16— under 1,000 residents
Mitchell TownshipNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Millen TownshipNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Mentor TownshipNone of its own——A

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Curtis Township Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2023 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans, books & media on the shelves, library cards, spending, funding and public computers. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Curtis Township

Does Curtis Township have a public library?

Yes. Curtis Township Library, 4884 Bamfield Road, serves Curtis Township’s 1,087 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 15 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Curtis Township Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Curtis Township’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Curtis Township’s civic life grade?

B+ Curtis Township is ahead of 72% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Curtis Township.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.