Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Au Gres

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Iosco-Arenac District Library

Au Gres’ library runs 2.7 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 14 for libraries its size

Iosco-Arenac District Library serves 40,239 people in and around Au Gres. Last year it lent 114K books, movies and e-books and logged 89K visits.

230 North Mackinaw, Au Gres 48703 · about 41 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
114K
2.8 per resident
Visits a year
89K
2.2 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
109
about 2 a week · 3,545 attended
Cardholders
10%
3,989 cards
Open
41 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on Au Gres’s library

Programs are almost all for children

94% of the 109 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including 40 for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

Few programs for a library this size

Iosco-Arenac District Library offered 109 programs last year, 2.7 per 1,000 residents against a typical 14. Kids & programs ↓

Below typical on every measure

Against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people, Iosco-Arenac District Library sits below the middle on all seven per-resident measures we compare, and in the bottom 30% on five. How it compares ↓

Few residents carry a card

Only 10% of the people Iosco-Arenac District Library serves have a library card, against a typical 39% for its size. How it compares ↓

Iosco-Arenac District Library serves more than Au Gres

The library’s service area covers 40,239 people in and around Au Gres, so its per-resident numbers are measured against that wider population. How it compares ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Au Gres’ civic life grade

Au Gres isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Au Gres’ overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 2.2 visits · typical 2.6Lower than 59%
Borrowing per resident 2.1 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 72%
Digital borrowing 0.8 e-items · typical 1.2Lower than 66%
Kids’ borrowing 0.6 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 79%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.3Bottom 10%
Programs offered 2.7 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Bottom 10%
Cardholders 10% of residents · typical 39%Bottom 10%
Spending $32 per resident · typical $40Lower than 62%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Iosco-Arenac District Library serves 40,239 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 7 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

89K
visits
2.2 per resident
114K
loans, print + digital
2.8 per resident
109
programs & events
3,545 attended
3,989
library cards
10% of people served
Every open hour7items borrowed
Every week68people at a program
Every day729Wi-Fi sessions
19 staff (full-time equivalent)54 public computers

Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

114K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

114Kloans
Books & media (adults) 51%Kids’ books & media 22%E-books, audio & streaming 27%
From your couch

30,780 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 2 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Au Gres →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–540
Ages 6–1163
Teens1
Adults5
All ages0
Little ones
0.8

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

25K
kids’ books & media borrowed
3,545
people at programs
109
programs
The building

Find it

Au Gres Community Library, 230 North Mackinaw, Au Gres.

41
hours open a week
3,420
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Au Gres? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.03 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Au Gres cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
1
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
6
Your card saves you about
$744
a year at retail prices · $62 a month

Who pays for it
$32 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $1.3M.

Local taxes 94%State 4%Gifts & other 2%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $2.6M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1.3M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 3,989 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Au GresAu Gres Community Library fine-free2.841— graded with its twin city
Au Gres TownshipNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Sims TownshipNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Au Gres

Does Au Gres have a public library?

Yes. Iosco-Arenac District Library, 230 North Mackinaw, serves 40,239 people in and around Au Gres (the survey’s count) and is open about 41 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Iosco-Arenac District Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Au Gres’ library?

It logged 2.2 visits and lent 2.8 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Au Gres’ civic life grade?

Au Gres isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Au Gres.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.