Houppert Winery Complex · Photo: Teemu08 · CC BY-SA 3.0Antwerp Township’s library logs 4.8 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size
Lawton Public Library serves Antwerp Township’s 1,850 residents. Last year it logged 8,836 visits.
What stands out about Antwerp Township’s library
Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.
What’s behind Antwerp Township’s civic life grade
On community nonprofits and volunteering, Antwerp Township is ahead of 74% of U.S. towns, #222 of 697 in Michigan. Antwerp Township is graded on two of the three inputs. The share of younger adults in volunteering groups holds the grade up; Antwerp Township’s count of community nonprofits pulls it down.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
49 community nonprofits are registered in Antwerp Township
3.6 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.
Community nonprofits, by kind
Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (10 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 1 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.
11.1%
11.1% of Antwerp Township’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 12.4% in the typical Michigan town and 7.5% nationally.
Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Antwerp Township’s residents live; 2022.
75 programs a year
Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Antwerp Township last year.
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 5 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.
Lawton Public Library serves 1,850 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.
A year at Lawton Public Library
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: print loans and books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
2 places to borrow in Antwerp Township
Lawton Public Library, 125 South Main Street, Lawton.















No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.
New in Antwerp Township? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
Other libraries in Antwerp Township
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Antwerp Township cardholder borrows.
Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $163K.
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 1,277 cardholders ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
| Town | Library | Loans per resident | Hours | Civic life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Antwerp Township | Lawton Public Library fine-free | — | 32 | B+ |
| Paw Paw Township | Paw Paw District Library fine-free | — | 54 | A− |
| Paw Paw | Paw Paw District Library fine-free | — | 54 | A− |
| Mattawan | Antwerp Sunshine Branch Library fine-free | — | 46 | B+ |
| Almena Township | None of its own | — | — | B+ |
| Texas Township | None of its own | — | — | C+ |
| Porter Township | None of its own | — | — | B |
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: print loans and books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Antwerp Township
Does Antwerp Township have a public library?
Yes. Lawton Public Library, 125 South Main Street, serves Antwerp Township’s 1,850 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 32 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Lawton Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?
Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Antwerp Township’s library?
It logged 4.8 visits per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.
What is Antwerp Township’s civic life grade?
B+ Antwerp Township is ahead of 74% of U.S. towns on civic life, #222 of 697 in Michigan. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Antwerp Township.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.