Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Danforth

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Union HallUnion Hall · Public domain
Danforth Public Library

Danforth’s library logs 0.4 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size

Danforth Public Library serves Danforth’s 1,150 residents. Last year it lent 521 books, movies and e-books and logged 450 visits.

46 Central Street, Danforth 04424 · about 14 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
521
0.5 per resident
Visits a year
450
0.4 per resident · Below typical (3.5)
Open
14 hrs
a week
In brief

Danforth’s library, in brief

Danforth Public Library is used less than most libraries its size

Danforth Public Library records 0.4 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries serving under 2,500 people. Borrowing is 0.5 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9. It also spends less than most: $4 per resident, against a typical $54. How it compares ↓

Mostly paid for by gifts, not taxes

63% of the library’s income comes from gifts, endowments, fees and other sources, not taxes. Local taxes cover 37%. What your card is worth ↓

Few programs for a library this size

Danforth Public Library offered 0 programs last year, 0 per 1,000 residents against a typical 60. Kids & programs ↓

Open only about 14 hours a week

Danforth Public Library keeps short hours: about 14 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

A small-town library

Danforth Public Library serves 1,150 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Danforth’s civic life grade

Danforth isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Danforth’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.4 visits · typical 3.5Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 0.5 print items · typical 3.9Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0 e-items · typical 1Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0 kids’ items · typical 1.4Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.7Bottom 10%
Programs offered 0 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Bottom 10%
Spending $4 per resident · typical $54Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Danforth Public Library serves 1,150 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

A year at Danforth Public Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

450
visits
0.4 per resident
521
loans, print + digital
0.5 per resident
0
programs & events
0 attended
Every open hour1items borrowed
Every week9visits
2 public computers3,102 books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

521 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

521loans
Books & media (adults) 90%Kids’ books & media 10%E-books, audio & streaming 0%
How hard the shelves work
0.2×

Each of the 3,102 books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.2 time last year, on average.

Kids & programs

What kids borrow

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Danforth →
53
kids’ books & media borrowed
The building

Find it

Danforth Public Library, 46 Central Street, Danforth.

14
hours open a week
600
square feet
3,102
books & media
With a card

No late fees. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Danforth? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.76 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Danforth resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$4 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $4,894.

Local taxes 37%Gifts & other 63%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $8,592 worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $4,894 budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 1,150 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
DanforthDanforth Public Library fine-free0.514— under 1,000 residents
WestonNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Danforth

Does Danforth have a public library?

Yes. Danforth Public Library, 46 Central Street, serves Danforth’s 1,150 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 14 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Danforth Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Danforth’s library?

It logged 0.4 visits and lent 0.5 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Danforth’s civic life grade?

Danforth isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Danforth.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.