Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Damariscotta

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Damariscotta, MainePhoto: Quintin Soloviev · CC BY 4.0
Skidompha Public Library

Damariscotta’s library logs 10 visits per resident, against a typical 3 for libraries its size

Skidompha Public Library serves Damariscotta’s 6,089 residents. Last year it lent 67K books, movies and e-books and logged 63K visits.

184 Main Street, Damariscotta 04543 · about 45 hours a week
A+Civic lifeAmong the top 1% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
67K
11 per resident
Visits a year
63K
10.4 per resident · Above typical (3)
Programs & events
347
about 7 a week · 5,564 attended
Cardholders
75%
4,550 cards
Open
45 hrs
a week
In brief

What Damariscotta’s library is like

Mostly paid for by gifts, not taxes

84% of the library’s income comes from gifts, endowments, fees and other sources, not taxes. Local taxes cover 16%. What your card is worth ↓

Damariscotta out-borrows every town next door

At 11 loans per resident, Damariscotta leads the four towns here. The closest is Bremen, at 3. Libraries next door ↓

Damariscotta uses its library more than almost any town its size

Skidompha Public Library logs 10 visits per resident, against a typical 3 for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people, and lends 8.9 print items per resident against a typical 3.8. On both counts it beats 88% of similar-size libraries across the U.S. How it compares ↓

Kids borrow more here than almost anywhere

Children’s books and media are 50% of print loans, and kids’ borrowing per resident is higher than at 89% of similar-size libraries. That works out to about 64 items per child in Damariscotta last year. Kids & programs ↓

A place to get online

Skidompha Public Library logs about 145 Wi-Fi sessions a day and has 10 public computers. That’s 8.7 sessions per resident a year. A year at the library ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Damariscotta’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Damariscotta is among the top 1% of U.S. towns. Damariscotta is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; Damariscotta’s count of community nonprofits ranks highest.

A+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Damariscotta’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Among the top 1%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $45K–$74K (7,523)Among the top 1%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Damariscotta is small (2,296 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

46 community nonprofits are registered in Damariscotta

21.0 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture94.11 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation41.82 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans83.65 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services135.93 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education31.37 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health62.74 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals31.37 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (7 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

12.2%

12.2% of Damariscotta’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 9.0% in the typical Maine town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Damariscotta’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 29 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

63K
visits
10.4 per resident
67K
loans, print + digital
11 per resident
347
programs & events
5,564 attended
4,550
library cards
75% of people served
Every open hour29items borrowed
Every week107people at a program
Every day145Wi-Fi sessions
7 staff (full-time equivalent)10 public computers37K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on all 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 10.4 visits · typical 3Top 10%
Borrowing per resident 8.9 print items · typical 3.8Higher than 88%
Digital borrowing 2.2 e-items · typical 1Higher than 79%
Kids’ borrowing 4.5 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 89%
Program attendance 0.9 attendees · typical 0.5Higher than 75%
Programs offered 57 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Higher than 73%
Cardholders 75% of residents · typical 42%Higher than 81%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Skidompha Public Library serves 6,089 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

67K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

67Kloans
Books & media (adults) 40%Kids’ books & media 40%E-books, audio & streaming 20%
How hard the shelves work
1.5×

Each of the 37K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1.5 time last year, on average.

From your couch

13,143 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 4 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Damariscotta →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–595
Ages 6–1194
Teens34
Adults114
All ages10
Little ones
1.8

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
64

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Damariscotta last year.

5,564
people at programs
347
programs
The building

Find it

Skidompha Public Library, 184 Main Street, Damariscotta.

45
hours open a week
12,700
square feet
37K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Damariscotta? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Damariscotta cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
1
Your card saves you about
$240
a year at retail prices · $20 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 4,550 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Damariscotta borrows the most per resident of the 4 towns here. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
DamariscottaSkidompha Public Library fine-free11.045A+
BremenBremen Public Library fine-free3.023— under 1,000 residents
WaldoboroWaldoboro Public Library3.032B−
BristolBristol Area Library3.026B+
NewcastleNone of its own——A+
NobleboroNone of its own——A

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Damariscotta

Does Damariscotta have a public library?

Yes. Skidompha Public Library, 184 Main Street, serves Damariscotta’s 6,089 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 45 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Skidompha Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Damariscotta’s library?

It logged 10.4 visits and lent 11.0 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3 visits for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people.

What is Damariscotta’s civic life grade?

A+ Damariscotta is among the top 1% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Damariscotta.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.