Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Rising Sun

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
RisingSunMarylandBankPhoto: Robert.Baruch · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Rising Sun · Not graded

Safety in Rising Sun, MD: what is reported

Count 2 graded towns in the 10 miles around. The closest graded town is Perryville, 9 miles away, at C+. Rising Sun’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
19
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
9 mi
Perryville (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 7 property crimes reported

Property crime (6.8)Violent crime (1.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Rising Sun1.1
Rest of MD7.3
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Rising Sun6.8
Rest of MD27.0
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Rising Sun’s police reported

Show as a table
YearRising SunRest of MarylandRising SunRest of Maryland
2022not reported27.4not reported10.8
2023not reported30.7not reported8.9
20246.530.31.18.9
20256.827.01.17.3

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Maryland. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

22 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft12
Burglary2
Vehicle theft5
Aggravated assault3
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
3
violent crimes
19
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

3 violent and 19 property, as reported to the FBI by Rising Sun’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Maryland towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
PerryvilleC+9 mi2.414.6
North EastC−9 mi4.019.1
Havre de GraceB−11 mi1.212.6
AberdeenD14 mi6.019.5
ElktonD−14 mi9.147.7
Bel AirC19 mi1.921.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Rising Sun. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Rising Sun.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Rising Sun’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Maryland towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Rising Sun’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Rising Sun’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Maryland towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Rising Sun and its neighbors

Rising Sun
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Rising Sun. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Rising Sun’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,783 in 2025); our figure for Rising Sun is 2,761 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Rising Sun

Is Rising Sun, MD safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Rising Sun. The nearest Maryland towns with a grade are Perryville (C+, 9 mi), North East (C−, 9 mi), Havre de Grace (B−, 11 mi).

Who polices Rising Sun?

Rising Sun’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Rising Sun”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Rising Sun feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Rising Sun.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.