Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Morningside

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Morningside · Not graded

Crime reported in Morningside, MD

Morningside’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
20
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
2 mi
District Heights (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 16 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (16.2)Violent crime (1.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Morningside1.6
Rest of MD7.3
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Morningside16.2
Rest of MD27.0
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Morningside’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Maryland. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearMorningsideRest of MarylandMorningsideRest of Maryland
2022not reported27.4not reported10.8
2023not reported30.7not reported8.9
202420.830.310.88.9
202516.227.01.67.3

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

22 crimes reported in 2025

2 violent and 20 property, as reported to the FBI by Morningside’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft6
Burglary9
Vehicle theft5
Aggravated assault0
Robbery2
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
2
violent crimes
20
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Maryland towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
District HeightsC−2 mi5.218.2
Capitol HeightsC−4 mi4.515.4
Seat PleasantD5 mi7.228.1
CheverlyC−7 mi2.826.1
GlenardenB7 mi1.98.0
Colmar ManorD8 mi2.836.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Morningside. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Morningside.

On the roads

Five people died in crashes on Morningside’s roads in 2019–2023

Morningside had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died; 3 were pedestrians. 2 died in crashes on an Interstate.

That is more than is typical for Maryland towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Morningside’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Morningside’s own rate (102.5) is context, not a ranking.

5
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
3
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
102.5
per 100,000 a year · Maryland towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Morningside and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Camp Springs———
Forestville———
Westphalia———
Andrews AFB———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Camp Springs, Forestville, Westphalia and Andrews AFB are unincorporated communities (census-designated places) with no police department of their own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Morningside. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Morningside’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,234 in 2025); our figure for Morningside is 1,232 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Morningside

Is Morningside, MD safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Morningside. Morningside’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Maryland towns with a grade are District Heights (C−, 2 mi), Capitol Heights (C−, 4 mi), Seat Pleasant (D, 5 mi).

Who polices Morningside?

Morningside’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Morningside”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Morningside.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Morningside feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.