Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Plainville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Looking South on Route 1A, Plainville MAPhoto: John Phelan · CC BY 3.0
Plainville Public Library

Plainville’s library lends 6.9 print items per resident, against a typical 3.8 for libraries its size

Plainville Public Library serves Plainville’s 9,865 residents. Last year it lent 68K print books and media and drew 5,999 people to its programs.

198 South St., Plainville 02762 · about 38 hours a week
CCivic lifeAhead of 27% of U.S. towns · #228 of 283 in Massachusetts. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
68K
6.9 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
409
about 8 a week · 5,999 attended
Cardholders
41%
4,011 cards
Open
38 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on Plainville’s library

More than half the print loans are for kids

Children’s books and media are 59% of print loans, and kids’ borrowing per resident is higher than at 86% of similar-size libraries. That works out to about 22 items per child in Plainville last year. Kids & programs ↓

Still charges late fines, unlike its neighbors

Plainville Public Library charges late fines on some overdue items. Two of the three libraries in neighboring towns have dropped them. What your card is worth ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Plainville’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Plainville is ahead of 27% of U.S. towns, #228 of 283 in Massachusetts. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Plainville is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Plainville’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

C
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Plainville’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 27%
FewerMore
Massachusetts towns we grade (283)Ahead of 20%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $78K–$130K (6,531)Ahead of 27%

The survey’s stand-in for Plainville’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($78K–$130K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

34 community nonprofits are registered in Plainville

3.4 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation90.91 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans60.60 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services10.10 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education30.30 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health40.40 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals30.30 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other80.80 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (3 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.1%

6.1% of Plainville’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.9% in the typical Massachusetts town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Plainville’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · Kids & programs

About 3 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Plainville →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5100
Ages 6–1172
Teens2
Adults184
All ages51
Little ones
1.9

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
22

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Plainville last year.

5,999
people at programs
409
programs
How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 6.9 print items · typical 3.8Higher than 79%
Kids’ borrowing 4 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 86%
Program attendance 0.6 attendees · typical 0.5Higher than 58%
Programs offered 41.5 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Higher than 59%
Cardholders 41% of residents · typical 42%Lower than 52%
Spending $38 per resident · typical $43Lower than 56%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in MA
#116Most library borrowingof 268 towns
#87Best libraries for kidsof 268 towns
Size group

Plainville Public Library serves 9,865 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 35 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

68K
loans, print + digital
6.9 per resident
409
programs & events
5,999 attended
4,011
library cards
41% of people served
Every open hour35items borrowed
Every week115people at a program
4 staff (full-time equivalent)4 public computers38K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

68K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

68Kloans
Books & media (adults) 41%Kids’ books & media 59%
How hard the shelves work
1.8×

Each of the 38K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1.8 times last year, on average.

From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

The building

Find it

Plainville Public Library, 198 South St., Plainville.

38
hours open a week
7,000
square feet
38K
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Plainville? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.66 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Plainville cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$348
a year at retail prices · $29 a month

Who pays for it
$38 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $379K.

Local taxes 90%State 9%Gifts & other 1%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $1M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $379K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 4,011 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Plainville ranks 2nd of 4 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
CumberlandCumberland Public Library fine-free8.257C
PlainvillePlainville Public Library6.938C
WrenthamFiske Public Library fine-free3.641C−
North Attleborough TownRichards Memorial Library2.453D

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Plainville Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Digital loans not reported. Massachusetts libraries often don’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Plainville

Does Plainville have a public library?

Yes. Plainville Public Library, 198 South St., serves Plainville’s 9,865 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 38 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Plainville Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Plainville’s library?

It lent 6.9 items per resident in 2024 (print) and ran 409 programs that drew 5,999 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Plainville’s civic life grade?

C Plainville is ahead of 27% of U.S. towns on civic life, #228 of 283 in Massachusetts. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Plainville.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.