Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Scott

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
DowntownScottPhoto: Public domain · Public domain
Safety in Scott · Not graded

Crime reported in Scott, LA

Scott’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
63
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
162
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
5 mi
Lafayette (D−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 17 property crimes reported

And about 6 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (16.5)Violent crime (6.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Scott6.4
Rest of LA8.2
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Scott16.5
Rest of LA29.7
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Scott’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Louisiana. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearScottRest of LouisianaScottRest of Louisiana
2022not reported42.7not reported10.1
2023not reported43.2not reported9.4
202416.434.76.68.9
202516.529.76.48.2

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

225 crimes reported in 2025

63 violent and 162 property, as reported to the FBI by Scott’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft111
Burglary24
Vehicle theft27
Aggravated assault60
Robbery0
Rape2
Homicide1
Arson0
63
violent crimes
162
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Louisiana towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
LafayetteD−5 mi10.041.3
BroussardC11 mi1.919.7
Church PointC13 mi5.27.3
OpelousasD−20 mi14.851.3
ErathB−20 mi3.44.3
JenningsD−34 mi9.937.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Scott. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Scott.

On the roads

Three people died in crashes on Scott’s roads in 2019–2023

Scott had 3 fatal crashes in five years, in which three people died; 1 was a pedestrian. 1 died in crash on an Interstate.

That is about what is typical for Louisiana towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (10.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Scott’s size would see about 5 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Scott’s own rate (7.0) is context, not a ranking.

3
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
7.0
per 100,000 a year · Louisiana towns of 5,000–25,000: 10.9

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Scott and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
LafayetteD−10.041.3

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Scott. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Scott’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (9,824 in 2025); our figure for Scott is 9,635 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Scott

Is Scott, LA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Scott. Scott’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Louisiana towns with a grade are Lafayette (D−, 5 mi), Broussard (C, 11 mi), Church Point (C, 13 mi).

Who polices Scott?

Scott’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Scott”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Scott.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Scott feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.