Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Clinton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
East Feliciana Parish Courthouse Clinton La1Photo: Galen Parks Smith (Gsmith) · CC BY 2.5
Safety in Clinton · Not graded

Crime reported in Clinton, LA

Clinton’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
16 mi
Zachary (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, no property crimes reported

And no violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (0)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Clinton0.0
Rest of LA8.9
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Clinton0.0
Rest of LA34.6
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Clinton’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Louisiana. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearClintonRest of LouisianaClintonRest of Louisiana
20220.042.73.710.1
20230.043.20.09.4
20240.034.60.08.9
2025not reported29.6not reported8.2

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

0 crimes reported in 2024

0 violent and 0 property, as reported to the FBI by Clinton’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft0
Burglary0
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
0
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Louisiana towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
ZacharyC−16 mi3.320.7
BakerC21 mi4.015.4
Port AllenD−31 mi12.623.8
IndependenceD−34 mi15.744.3
AddisA−37 mi0.85.9
HammondD−41 mi6.854.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Clinton. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Clinton.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Clinton’s roads in 2019–2023

Clinton had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died; 1 was a pedestrian.

That is about what is typical for Louisiana towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Clinton’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Clinton’s own rate (17.6) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
17.6
per 100,000 a year · Louisiana towns of 2,500–5,000: 9.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Clinton and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Clinton
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Clinton. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Clinton’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,304 in 2024); our figure for Clinton is 1,265 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Clinton

Is Clinton, LA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Clinton. Clinton’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Louisiana towns with a grade are Zachary (C−, 16 mi), Baker (C, 21 mi), Port Allen (D−, 31 mi).

Who polices Clinton?

Clinton’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Clinton”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Clinton.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Clinton feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.