Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Brusly

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Brusly OakPhoto: Jackx3 (Uploads) · Public domain
Safety in Brusly · Not graded

Crime reported in Brusly, LA

Brusly’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
8
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
2 mi
Addis (A−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 3 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (3.1)Violent crime (0.8)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Brusly0.8
Rest of LA8.2
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Brusly3.1
Rest of LA29.7
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Brusly’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Louisiana. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearBruslyRest of LouisianaBruslyRest of Louisiana
20224.242.80.810.1
20233.143.33.89.4
2024not reported34.5not reported8.9
20253.129.70.88.2

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

10 crimes reported in 2025

2 violent and 8 property, as reported to the FBI by Brusly’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Robbery0
Homicide0
2
violent crimes
8
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total. 2025 figures come from FBI Crime Data Explorer, which publishes violent crime, homicides, robberies and property crime only.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Louisiana towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
AddisA−2 mi0.85.9
Port AllenD−4 mi12.623.8
PlaquemineD−8 mi10.230.0
BakerC14 mi4.015.4
ZacharyC−19 mi3.320.7
GonzalesD23 mi5.240.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Brusly. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Brusly.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Brusly’s roads in 2019–2023

Brusly had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for Louisiana towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Brusly’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Brusly’s own rate (15.4) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
15.4
per 100,000 a year · Louisiana towns of 2,500–5,000: 9.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Brusly and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Brusly
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Brusly. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Brusly’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,595 in 2025); our figure for Brusly is 2,614 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Brusly

Is Brusly, LA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Brusly. Brusly’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Louisiana towns with a grade are Addis (A−, 2 mi), Port Allen (D−, 4 mi), Plaquemine (D−, 8 mi).

Who polices Brusly?

Brusly’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Brusly Police Department”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Brusly.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Brusly feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.