Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to St. John

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Gray, William R., Photography Studio and ResidenceGray, William R., Photography Studio and Residence · Photo: Jon Roanhaus · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in St. John · Not graded

Crime reported in St. John, KS

St. John’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
21 mi
Pratt (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 2 property crimes reported

And no violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (1.7)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

St. John0.0
Rest of KS4.1
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

St. John1.7
Rest of KS20.2
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years St. John’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Kansas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearSt. JohnRest of KansasSt. JohnRest of Kansas
2022not reported24.3not reported5.0
2023not reported24.2not reported4.8
20241.720.20.04.1
2025not reported22.8not reported5.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

2 crimes reported in 2024

0 violent and 2 property, as reported to the FBI by St. John’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft0
Burglary1
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
2
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Kansas towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
PrattB−21 mi2.311.1
LarnedC22 mi4.112.6
Great BendC25 mi3.614.8
SterlingA33 mi0.64.2
HoisingtonB+36 mi1.73.7
LyonsC39 mi2.818.8

Straight-line distance from the center of St. John. Nearby towns can differ a lot from St. John.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on St. John’s roads in 2019–2023

St. John had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for Kansas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of St. John’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so St. John’s own rate (34.1) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
34.1
per 100,000 a year · Kansas towns of 2,500–5,000: 6.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

St. John and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

St. John
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of St. John. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against St. John’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,155 in 2024); our figure for St. John is 1,200 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in St. John

Is St. John, KS safe?

There is no Safety Grade for St. John. St. John’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Kansas towns with a grade are Pratt (B−, 21 mi), Larned (C, 22 mi), Great Bend (C, 25 mi).

Who polices St. John?

St. John’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “St. John”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in St. John.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does St. John feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.