Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Oberlin

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Bank of OberlinBank of Oberlin · Photo: Ammodramus · CC0
Safety in Oberlin · Not graded

Policing and crime in Oberlin, KS

Oberlin’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. For a graded neighbor, the nearest is Goodland (C+), 71 miles away.

Violent crimes
8
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
7
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
71 mi
Goodland (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 4 property crimes reported

Property crime (4.4)Violent crime (5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Oberlin5.0
Rest of KS4.1
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Oberlin4.4
Rest of KS20.2
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 5 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Oberlin’s police reported

Show as a table
YearOberlinRest of KansasOberlinRest of Kansas
2022not reported24.3not reported5.0
2023not reported24.2not reported4.8
20244.420.25.04.1
2025not reported22.8not reported5.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Kansas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

15 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft7
Burglary0
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault6
Robbery0
Rape2
Homicide0
Arson1
8
violent crimes
7
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

8 violent and 7 property, as reported to the FBI by Oberlin’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Kansas towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
GoodlandC+71 mi2.711.3
Scott CityB95 mi3.03.5
Garden CityC−129 mi5.221.1
HoisingtonB+130 mi1.73.7
BeloitB131 mi2.54.5
LarnedC137 mi4.112.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Oberlin. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Oberlin.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Oberlin’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Kansas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Oberlin’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Oberlin’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Kansas towns of 2,500–5,000: 6.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Oberlin and its neighbors

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Oberlin. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Oberlin’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,596 in 2024); our figure for Oberlin is 1,606 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Oberlin

Is Oberlin, KS safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Oberlin. The nearest Kansas towns with a grade are Goodland (C+, 71 mi), Scott City (B, 95 mi), Garden City (C−, 129 mi).

Who polices Oberlin?

Oberlin’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Oberlin”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Oberlin feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Oberlin.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.