Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Minneola

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Minneola Reformed Presbyterian ChurchPhoto: Nyttend · Public domain
Minneola City Library

Minneola’s library logs 1.6 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size

Minneola City Library serves Minneola’s 691 residents. Last year it lent 2,322 books, movies and e-books and logged 1,122 visits.

112 Main, Minneola 67865 · about 23 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
2,322
3.4 per resident
Visits a year
1,122
1.6 per resident · Below typical (3.5)
Programs & events
41
about 1 a week · 257 attended
Cardholders
100%
1,466 cards
Open
23 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on Minneola’s library

More library cards than residents

1,466 cards for 691 people. Cards held by people from outside the service area count too, so the total can pass the population. At the typical library serving under 2,500 people, it’s 54%. How it compares ↓

A small-town library

Minneola City Library serves 691 residents with about one full-time staff, open about 23 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

Gifts and endowments pay a real share

35% of the library’s income comes from gifts, endowments, fees and other sources, not taxes. Local taxes cover 50%. What your card is worth ↓

A place to get online

Minneola City Library logs about 46 Wi-Fi sessions a day and has 3 public computers. That’s 24 sessions per resident a year. A year at the library ↓

Kids’ books are most of what goes out

Children’s books and media make up 60% of print loans. Per resident, kids’ borrowing is higher than at 59% of similar-size libraries. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Minneola’s civic life grade

Minneola isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Minneola’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

★ What stands out · How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 3 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.6 visits · typical 3.5Lower than 82%
Borrowing per resident 3 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 61%
Digital borrowing 0.4 e-items · typical 1Lower than 70%
Kids’ borrowing 1.8 kids’ items · typical 1.4Higher than 59%
Program attendance 0.4 attendees · typical 0.7Lower than 68%
Programs offered 59.3 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Higher than 50%
Cardholders 100% of residents · typical 54%Top 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Minneola City Library serves 691 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 2 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

1,122
visits
1.6 per resident
2,322
loans, print + digital
3.4 per resident
41
programs & events
257 attended
1,466
library cards
100% of people served
Every open hour2items borrowed
Every week5people at a program
Every day46Wi-Fi sessions
1 staff (full-time equivalent)3 public computers12K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

2,322 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

2,322loans
Books & media (adults) 35%Kids’ books & media 54%E-books, audio & streaming 11%
How hard the shelves work
0.2×

Each of the 12K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.2 time last year, on average.

From your couch

248 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

41 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Minneola →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–531
Ages 6–115
Teens5
Adults0
All ages0
Little ones
0.6

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
5

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Minneola last year.

257
people at programs
41
programs
The building

Find it

Minneola City Library, 112 Main, Minneola.

23
hours open a week
2,400
square feet
12K
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Minneola? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Minneola cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
1
Your card saves you about
$240
a year at retail prices · $20 a month

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 1,466 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Minneola

Does Minneola have a public library?

Yes. Minneola City Library, 112 Main, serves Minneola’s 691 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 23 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Minneola City Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Minneola’s library?

It logged 1.6 visits and lent 3.4 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Minneola’s civic life grade?

Minneola isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Minneola.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.