Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Holcomb

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Holcomb · Not graded

Crime reported in Holcomb, KS

Holcomb’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
7
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
8 mi
Garden City (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 3 property crimes reported

And no violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (3.1)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Holcomb0.0
Rest of KS5.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Holcomb3.1
Rest of KS22.8
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Holcomb’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Kansas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearHolcombRest of KansasHolcombRest of Kansas
2022not reported24.3not reported5.0
2023not reported24.2not reported4.8
2024not reported20.2not reported4.1
20253.122.80.05.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

7 crimes reported in 2025

0 violent and 7 property, as reported to the FBI by Holcomb’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft7
Burglary0
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
7
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Kansas towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Garden CityC−8 mi5.221.1
Scott CityB34 mi3.03.5
UlyssesA34 mi1.30.5
Dodge CityC+55 mi2.711.0
LiberalC+65 mi2.810.4
GoodlandC+102 mi2.711.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Holcomb. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Holcomb.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Holcomb’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Kansas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Holcomb’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Holcomb’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Kansas towns of 2,500–5,000: 6.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Holcomb and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Holcomb
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Holcomb. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Holcomb’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,242 in 2025); our figure for Holcomb is 2,190 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Holcomb

Is Holcomb, KS safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Holcomb. Holcomb’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Kansas towns with a grade are Garden City (C−, 8 mi), Scott City (B, 34 mi), Ulysses (A, 34 mi).

Who polices Holcomb?

Holcomb’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Holcomb”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Holcomb.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Holcomb feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.