Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Fairway

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Shawnee MissionShawnee Mission · Photo: Lester Jones, Photographer · Public domain
Safety in Fairway · Not graded

Crime reported in Fairway, KS

Fairway’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
6
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
16
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
1 mi
Roeland Park (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 4 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (3.9)Violent crime (1.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Fairway1.4
Rest of KS4.1
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Fairway3.9
Rest of KS20.2
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Fairway’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Kansas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearFairwayRest of KansasFairwayRest of Kansas
202213.224.40.55.0
20237.724.21.74.8
20243.920.21.44.1
2025not reported22.8not reported5.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

22 crimes reported in 2024

6 violent and 16 property, as reported to the FBI by Fairway’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft7
Burglary5
Vehicle theft4
Aggravated assault5
Robbery0
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
6
violent crimes
16
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Kansas towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Roeland ParkC−1 mi2.323.1
Mission HillsB−1 mi0.913.5
WestwoodD1 mi2.136.7
MissionD2 mi3.547.7
Prairie VillageB+3 mi0.89.6
MerriamD−4 mi4.552.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Fairway. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Fairway.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Fairway’s roads in 2019–2023

Fairway had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Kansas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Fairway’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Fairway’s own rate (4.8) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
4.8
per 100,000 a year · Kansas towns of 2,500–5,000: 6.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Fairway and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Mission HillsB−0.913.5
Roeland ParkC−2.323.1
WestwoodD2.136.7
Prairie VillageB+0.89.6
MissionD3.547.7

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Fairway. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Fairway’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (4,154 in 2024); our figure for Fairway is 4,181 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Fairway

Is Fairway, KS safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Fairway. Fairway’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Kansas towns with a grade are Roeland Park (C−, 1 mi), Mission Hills (B−, 1 mi), Westwood (D, 1 mi).

Who polices Fairway?

Fairway’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Fairway”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Fairway.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Fairway feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.