Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Derby

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Derby · Not graded

Crime reported in Derby, KS

Derby has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
59
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
566
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
6 mi
Mulvane (B+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 22 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (21.8)Violent crime (2.3)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Derby2.3
Rest of KS5.0
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Derby21.8
Rest of KS24.4
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Derby’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Kansas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearDerbyRest of KansasDerbyRest of Kansas
202221.824.42.35.0
2023not reported24.2not reported4.8
2024not reported20.2not reported4.1
2025not reported22.8not reported5.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

625 crimes reported in 2022

59 violent and 566 property, as reported to the FBI by Derby’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft505
Burglary39
Vehicle theft22
Aggravated assault46
Robbery1
Rape10
Homicide2
Arson1
59
violent crimes
566
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Kansas towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
MulvaneB+6 mi0.610.3
Rose HillB7 mi1.39.1
WichitaD−10 mi9.638.8
ClearwaterA−14 mi1.03.8
Bel AireB+15 mi1.17.9
Park CityC−18 mi3.327.8

Straight-line distance from the center of Derby. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Derby.

On the roads

Six people died in crashes on Derby’s roads in 2019–2023

Derby had 6 fatal crashes in five years, in which six people died; 1 was a pedestrian.

That is about what is typical for Kansas towns of 25,000–100,000 people: at their median rate (3.5 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Derby’s size would see about 5 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Derby’s own rate (4.6) is context, not a ranking.

6
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
4.6
per 100,000 a year · Kansas towns of 25,000–100,000: 3.5

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Derby and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Riverside Township———
Rockford Township———
Gypsum Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Riverside Township, Rockford Township and Gypsum Township have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Derby. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Derby’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (25,907 in 2022); our figure for Derby is 26,606 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Derby

Is Derby, KS safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Derby. Derby has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Kansas towns with a grade are Mulvane (B+, 6 mi), Rose Hill (B, 7 mi), Wichita (D−, 10 mi).

Who polices Derby?

Derby’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Derby”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Derby.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Derby feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.