Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Topeka

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Topeka, IndianaPhoto: Chris Flook · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Topeka · Not graded

Crime reported in Topeka, IN

Topeka’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
10 mi
Lagrange (A)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 1 property crime reported

And no violent crimes, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (0.8)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Topeka0.0
Rest of IN4.9
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Topeka0.8
Rest of IN22.2
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Topeka’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Indiana. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearTopekaRest of IndianaTopekaRest of Indiana
2022not reported23.2not reported4.8
20230.822.20.04.9
2024not reported20.2not reported4.6
2025not reported15.0not reported3.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

1 crime reported in 2023

0 violent and 1 property, as reported to the FBI by Topeka’s police.

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft0
Burglary0
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
1
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Indiana towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
LagrangeA10 mi0.54.6
AlbionB+12 mi1.56.4
GoshenC15 mi2.122.5
KendallvilleB16 mi1.86.7
MilfordB17 mi2.45.1
BristolC−19 mi3.224.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Topeka. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Topeka.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Topeka’s roads in 2019–2023

Topeka had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Indiana towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (13.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Topeka’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Topeka’s own rate (17.6) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
17.6
per 100,000 a year · Indiana towns of 2,500–5,000: 13.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Topeka and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Topeka
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Topeka. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Topeka’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,228 in 2023); our figure for Topeka is 1,229 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Topeka

Is Topeka, IN safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Topeka. Topeka’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Indiana towns with a grade are Lagrange (A, 10 mi), Albion (B+, 12 mi), Goshen (C, 15 mi).

Who polices Topeka?

Topeka’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Topeka”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Topeka.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Topeka feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.