Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Porter

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Porter Indiana P3210013Photo: Chris Light · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Porter · Not graded

Crime reported in Porter, IN

Porter’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
17
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
6 mi
Portage (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 3 property crimes reported

And fewer than 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (3.3)Violent crime (0.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Porter0.2
Rest of IN3.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Porter3.3
Rest of IN15.0
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Porter’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Indiana. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearPorterRest of IndianaPorterRest of Indiana
20223.223.21.94.8
2023not reported22.2not reported4.9
20241.920.30.24.6
20253.315.00.23.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

18 crimes reported in 2025

1 violent and 17 property, as reported to the FBI by Porter’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft7
Burglary5
Vehicle theft5
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
17
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Indiana towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
PortageB−6 mi2.411.0
ValparaisoB+10 mi1.08.6
Michigan CityC12 mi3.019.9
HobartC13 mi1.321.9
GaryD−14 mi12.130.5
GriffithB19 mi1.39.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Porter. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Porter.

On the roads

Eight people died in crashes on Porter’s roads in 2019–2023

Porter had 8 fatal crashes in five years, in which eight people died; 1 was a pedestrian. 1 died in crash on an Interstate.

That is more than is typical for Indiana towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (8.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Porter’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Porter’s own rate (30.7) is context, not a ranking.

8
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
30.7
per 100,000 a year · Indiana towns of 5,000–25,000: 8.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Porter and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Chesterton———
Burns Harbor———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Chesterton reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024. Burns Harbor has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Porter. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Porter’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (5,187 in 2025); our figure for Porter is 5,167 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Porter

Is Porter, IN safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Porter. Porter’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Indiana towns with a grade are Portage (B−, 6 mi), Valparaiso (B+, 10 mi), Michigan City (C, 12 mi).

Who polices Porter?

Porter’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Porter”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Porter.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Porter feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.