Photo: Brian Stansberry · CC BY 4.0Safety in Sumner, IL: what is reported
The closest graded town is Bridgeport, 6 miles away, at B+. Widen the search to 25 miles and 5 graded towns turn up. Sumner’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, no property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And no violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Sumner’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Sumner | Rest of Illinois | Sumner | Rest of Illinois |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | not reported | 20.5 | not reported | 3.7 |
| 2023 | not reported | 19.5 | not reported | 3.4 |
| 2024 | not reported | 19.8 | not reported | 3.2 |
| 2025 | 0.0 | 17.1 | 0.0 | 2.7 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Illinois. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
0 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
0 violent and 0 property, as reported to the FBI by Sumner’s police.
The nearest Illinois towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bridgeport | B+ | 6 mi | 1.4 | 5.2 |
| Olney | C+ | 12 mi | 2.3 | 13.5 |
| Mount Carmel | A− | 21 mi | 1.3 | 3.7 |
| Robinson | C | 21 mi | 2.9 | 16.0 |
| Newton | C+ | 25 mi | 3.2 | 11.1 |
| Flora | B+ | 33 mi | 1.3 | 6.4 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Sumner. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Sumner.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
No one died in a crash on Sumner’s roads in 2019–2023
That is about what is typical for Illinois towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Sumner’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Sumner’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Sumner and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Sumner. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Sumner’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,586 in 2025); our figure for Sumner is 1,656 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Sumner
Is Sumner, IL safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Sumner. The nearest Illinois towns with a grade are Bridgeport (B+, 6 mi), Olney (C+, 12 mi), Mount Carmel (A−, 21 mi).
Who polices Sumner?
Sumner’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Sumner”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Sumner.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.